thinking out loud

WWW Wednesdays (December 13th)

What are you currently reading?

Nothing that I’m “properly” reading – I’m reading Seventeen Stitches by Sean Eads whenever I’m in the train or waiting, but it’s a short story collection, and I’ve been reading it on and off for awhile. (And yes, it’s mostly dark/horror, which I don’t usually read, but it’s the kind of horror that is precisely my cup of tea.) I’ve also started listening to Laini Taylor’s Strange the Dreamer (read by Steve West, which was the main reason why I got the audiobook), but that’s only when I’m doing chores at home.

 

What did you recently finish reading?

Runebinder by Alex R. Kahler – I started reading it thinking that it’s a YA high fantasy with queer characters. Turns out that it was a post-apocalyptic fantasy with queer characters, and is a lot darker than I thought it would be. A fun read, but perhaps not for my current state of mind (I’m in the mood for happier things!) Before this, I was reading The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee which is a YA historical fantasy which definitely count as “happier things”.

 

 

What do you think you’ll read next?

Most probably, Margaret Rogerson’s An Enchantment of Ravens. It’s been on my “want to read” list for so long. I’ve read good and bad reviews of it, so I’ve been wanting to see how I think of it, and the cover is oh so gorgeous, and the writer seems to be a DWJ fan – so far I haven’t been disappointed in books written by DWJ fans, but we’ll see!

2 thoughts on “WWW Wednesdays (December 13th)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.