Fantasy

The Cry of the Icemark by Stuart Hill

cryoficemarkThe main protagonist, Thirrin, is without a doubt the strongest and most admirable female character I have ever found on ink-and-paper. Most fantasy authors create female witches and powerful sorceresses or healers or “wise women”, even; but Thirrin is different. She’s short-tempered, a warrior who can barely read and acts before she thinks. I like how her character develops throughout the novel, as she goes through grief, as she was forced to grow up and learn to be a queen, as she leads her people into war, as she learns of the importance of diplomacy. While in her country sexism doesn’t seem to exist, Hill shows both sides of sexism at her borders – in the patriarchal Polypontians as well as Hypolitan clan led and dominated by women who consider men the weaker sex.

The relationship between Thirrin and Oskan is also interesting, because Oskan is the more feminine of the two, and is, in fact, a healer (and later a warlock). While Thirrin defines herself as a warrior first and a queen second (Protector and Leader, both “masculine” virtues) Oskan is a pacifist who avoids conflict when he can, and has a very nurturing character (feminine, feminine). Quite a role reversal, not just for a fantasy novel (although gender equality does come easier in fantasy). I’d have a lot to write about if I used this book for my lit criticism classes.

By this virtue alone I could give this book a glowing recommendation, but added the fact that Hill’s writing was delightful and riveting, that I could not stop reading the moment I started, that it made me feel inspired both to write and to try to have a bit of Thirrin’s strength in me, that its battle scenes are so well-described it was like I was watching it all happen… well, it’s just asking to be named in my Must Read List.

~ cross-posted from blogspot

One thought on “The Cry of the Icemark by Stuart Hill

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.