Review · Thriller

Piercing by Ryu Murakami

This book was immediately familiar from the moment I picked it up. For one, there’s the fact that it’s not that different from In The Miso Soup. And the two-psychos-get-together thing just reminds me of Poppy Z. Brite’s Exquisite Corpse. Actually, like Miso Soup, this book just makes me want to re-read all my Poppy Z. Brites.
I started out reading this together with the original Japanese version, but somewhere towards the middle, I dropped the Japanese version so that I could read faster, only going back to it when a sentence or word usage bothered me. It was entertaining, yes, but I guess the question is – would I have bought it if it wasn’t by Murakami Ryu? Probably not.
While this story is dark and gripping enough for my taste, it just isn’t as powerful – and in fact is nowhere near as powerful – as Murakami Ryu’s Coin Locker Babies.
~ originally posted on blogspot
Leave a Reply

