Fantasy · Review

Mini Review: Anansi Boys by Neil Gaiman

Hmm. While this book is definitely engaging, and while I really really enjoyed Gaiman`s dark humor, it disappointed me. When I read American Gods my reaction was kind of “…hmm.” And Anansi Boys is less good than American Gods. Maybe I will never like the newer Gaimans as much as Neverwhere and the Sandman comics, I don`t know.

Coolest part – The exact moment Fat Charlie just became Charlie. And actually noticing that exact moment, the exact line where he became Charlie. After being narrated as Fat Charlie for most of the book, this line changes everything. Not-so-cool-but-cool-anyway part, was when Maeve Livingstone went to confront Grahame Coats. The story went a bit “…huh?” after that, and its darker than I expected it to be, but I did appreciate the horror twist.

I liked this book, but really, it`s nothing compared to Neverwhere.

~ originally posted on blogspot

Leave a Reply

