Fantasy · Romance

Books Read 23/9 – 29/9

This is becoming a regular format, it seems… since my last post I started on R.A. Salvatore’s Homeland, which is the first of his Dark Elf trilogy. I have read the graphic novels before this, and even though this is the first time I’m reading a Forgotten Realms novels, I’m not a stranger to the series. I couldn’t be ignorant of the FR books, with the brothers I have. Being a book snob, I never touched the books because I was prejudiced against these “series” types.

Since I started working at the store I started reading a lot of things I wouldn’t normally read, though. As I expected, it was a bit difficult to start on Homeland at first. But by the third chapter I was more comfortable with the new world I plunged into (I’m more into low fantasy, stuff you can get into without having this entire new worlds/races/languages thrown at me) I was completely hooked. I never understood my brother’s obsession with drows and orcs. But Drizzt, I get. He’s really intriguing, I suppose, as a hero. Homeland just shows his history, how he came to be – a drow unlike any other, honorable amidst all the treachery that goes on in his society.

After reading Salvatore, I decided I needed a short break and started on an old romance novel I found in the Malacca house – really a good place for treasure hunting, I found out we owned Jonathan Kellerman, Johanna Lindsey, and even Eric Van Lustbader hardcovers! And a book by Ian McEwan and a bunch of other authors I didn’t know anyone in my family read. Wonder who owned them. Anyway. Back to the book I found. It was Peggy Hanchar’s Lady of the Mist. I find it strange that right now I can’t seem to finish any of the more decent romances, like the better Nora Roberts books, but I can finish this within a few hours. I enjoyed it, and I liked that it sort of addresses how people just go in that witch-hunt frenzy.

A lot of accusations seem to stem from petty things, like jealousy, plain dislike, irrational fear, and of course the biggest cause, ignorance. If someone is a bit different from the others, they’re a witch. *rolls eyes* I guess things are not that different now, except that we have different labels to pin on the people who don’t fit in. So, in essence, this love story is equal to those high school ones, like the John Hughes movies or something, where the popular guy falls for the loser girl…

After Lady of the Mist, I went immediately back to Salvatore. Drizzt didn’t question the lies he had been fed since his youth, but he finally opened his eyes to the truth of what being a drow means in Homeland.

In the next book, Exile, he leaves his homeland to wander the underdark. There were parts that I didn’t feel like reading because I remembered the graphic novel too well. But it was as good a read as the first book. Salvatore’s writing makes me feel like I can see everything unfolding before me. I wondered if it’s really his storytelling or the fact that I read the graphic novels, so I’ll start reading the Icewind Dale books next week (probably) to see. But the battle scenes (something I find dreary to read, however exciting they may be in real life) are quite easy to read in this trilogy.

I finished Sojourn, the third part of the trilogy, this evening. Here Drizzt left the underdark to live in the surface world. I thought it was pretty silly to do so without any knowledge of the human language, but he coped. It was getting predictable by this book – he comes by a settlement, they are prejudiced against him since he’s a drow, he proves that he deserves friendship, and makes friends as well as enemies. He learns new things about himself, makes the reader like him and get into his story even more. And then of course the cool battle scenes. Always the cool battle scenes. 🙂 I read the old Penguin book versions of the series; compared to the new “Legend of Drizzt” reprint (which are the covers I used in this post) these covers look dead ugly. Drizzt look so old in the pictures. And he’s pretty young for a dark elf!

~ originally posted on blogspot
Leave a Reply

