Fantasy

Enna Burning by Shannon Hale

I knew that I was going to love this book from the moment I opened it to see the map and discovered that it had expanded. While The Goose Girl comes with a map that shows Kildenree (where Isi is from) and Bayern (where the story happens), the sequel’s map is larger, showing the position of other kingdoms, like Tira.

There was no mention of Tira in the first book, so I thought it was odd that there would be a war with them in the second one, but after reading it it all made sense. That’s the thing about Shannon Hale’s writings – everything seems real and natural to the story, even the magic. The fact that Enna could use elemental magic never once seemed strange or “magical”; it is just part of who she is. Isi’s absence throughout most of the story does make it seem like a completely new story instead of a sequel, but that didn’t bother me in the least. I loved this book, and if I’m going to have any complaints about it I guess it’d be that I think it ended too quickly. The part in Yasid, where Isi and Enna both try to understand and control their gifts, went too quickly for me.

The fact that Enna could use elemental magic never once seemed strange or “magical”; it is just part of who she is. Isi’s absence throughout most of the story does make it seem like a completely new story instead of a sequel, but that didn’t bother me in the least. I loved this book, and if I’m going to have any complaints about it I guess it’d be that I think it ended too quickly. The part in Yasid, where Isi and Enna both try to understand and control their gifts, went too quickly for me.

Note: Thanks Ashkarya for this book!

~ originally posted on blogspot

Leave a Reply

