Fantasy · Review

River Secrets by Shannon Hale

This is a perfect ending to Shannon Hale’s trilogy, which started with The Goose Girl. Razo has been one of my favorite characters since the first book, so I’m glad that he’s the protagonist for this one.

As usual, what I loved best about this trilogy – other than the fact that it started with a favorite fairy tale and expanded it – is that Shannon Hale wrote a fantasy, but throughout the whole thing it didn’t feel like fantasy at all. Razo’s feats at slinging a rock seem to me more fantastical than Enna being able to call wind or burn anything at will. And I loved how she created all those kingdoms that are completely different with each other, much like Stuart Hill did with his Icemark chronicles. I liked reading Finn, Enna and Razo going through culture shock when they lived in Ingridan, just like Isi had to learn how people in Bayern lived and talked when she came from Kildenree.

What I didn’t like… hmm, nope, there was nothing I didn’t like in this book.

Leave a Reply

