thinking out loud

Kamikaze Girls (下妻物語)

Japanese DVDRight now I am absolutely, completely, 100% obsessed with Takemoto Novala’s Kamikaze Girls (下妻物語 orShimotsuma Monogatari / “The Tale of Shimotsuma” in the original Japanese). I saw the movie sometime ago at the Japanese Film Festival. I’ve wanted to watch it a long time before that, when I first heard about it. Around Form 5 and my first couple of years in college, I was into Lolita fashion. It was just so witchbaby-esque, you know? Like right out of a book by Francesca Lia Block. So when I heard about the movie I was interested in watching it. I even bought the special edition DVD when I was in Japan. I could already watch it without subtitles (even though I always prefer subtitles, even when watching in English. I just want something to read while I watch.) and I could always set my computer to region 2 (my comp is set to region 1 now though, for the sake of LotR!) so I bought it. It’s not like it’s one of those movies you can get here, anyway.

 
US paperbackI wanted to get the hardcover translated edition, but decided to wait out for the paperback instead. The paperback arrived last week, and it has pictures from the movie on the cover. So I thought, fine, it’s ok. And I got it. But after reading it, which was an experience close enough to that of reading Francesca Lia Block’s Girl Goddess #9 or hearing Tori Amos for the first time, I was completely blown away. So much so that I had to have the hardcover. US hardcoverSo, er, I bought the hardcover yesterday. It’s completely insane, when I already decided not to get a lot of books this month, since the cost of my Cloud 9 is going to be double the original price, but I wanted the hardcover. The paperback is cute enough, but the cover keeps flipping upwards, like a manga, and it’s annoying.

 

I read about a sequel being written but so far I haven’t found the title of the sequel yet, which is a pity since I really want to read it. But when I bought the paperback US version of Kamikaze Girls, I also bought the Japanese paperback (even though I would get the Japanese hardcover if I could, the cover is MUCH nicer).Japanese paperbackI’ve only read a few pages of the Japanese one so far – the first page alone was a bit hard to get through, a lot of kanji I didn’t know. I can’t believe I was able to read the several Murakami and Yoshimoto that I’ve bought so far, but this novel (which isn’t really that literary at all) is giving me a hard time. I can’t understand the parts where Momoko goes on her rants.

 

While searching about the sequel, I found out about the US release DVD (so it’ll be in region 1, same as my computer! AND it has subs so I can can happily read and watch at the same time, while my non-Japanese speaking friends can also watch it with me without me having to translate) and am seriously thinking of getting it. I’ll ask my brother if he could find it in Singapore. If not, Amazon.com will be my hero. US release DVDThe cover for the US version of the DVD is also nicer. To me, anyway. I really hope that I could get this is Singapore. I’ll give up my Natasha Moore for this DVD, and isn’t that weird? Since Natasha Moore is going to be my lolita Blythe, I decided. Except that I don’t know where I could get my hands on Lolita Blythe clothes other than from the internet. And I’m ranting aimlessly again, I know, but I’m just so happy to have read Kamikaze Girls and happy to be online again after so long! (I’m at my other brother’s place, btw. I’ve gone 20% darker walking in the sun to get here, and my tan is not even cute like Cinnamon Girl) Since Momoko in Kamikaze Girlsis like Takemoto Novala’s alter ego, the fact that I relate to her means that he’s a kindred of sorts. Of course, besides the stuff that Momoko rants about, the only things we have in common is a penchant for Dior perfume.

 

~ originally posted on blogspot

Leave a Reply

