Book Challenges · Horror · thinking out loud

Something R.I.P.ing This Way Comes III (challenge)

I was just talking with Ichigo about doing book challenges, and wanted to do a couple at least, before the year ends. Next year I’m planning to challenge myself into reading at least 20 sci-fi books throughout the year (only 20 as I don’t want to give up on my other readings :p). Anyway, the R.I.P. challenge requires me to make a list of mystery/suspense/thriller/dark fantasy/gothic/horror/supernatural books to read throughout September and October. I’m taking the 1st Peril, which is to read 4 books in my list by the end of the challenge.
My books are:

Valiant, Holly Black
Last Watch, Sergei Lukyanenko
Heart-Shaped Box, Joe Hill
The Book of Lost Things, John Connolly
Dracula, Bram Stoker
Something Wicked This Way Comes, Ray Bradbury
So that makes 5 books in my pool. I added Dracula as a safety measure in case I don’t get a copy of Last Watch in time (it will be released in October). Plus, I haven’t read Dracula in one sitting before. So if I do choose it, that’ll be my challenge. To read it in one sitting. The rest are dark fantasy stuff that I’ve been planning to read, so now would be as good a time to start as any other.
Pity I didn’t expect to do a halloweeny challenge before this, as I’ve been swallowing vampire books non-stop since Breaking Dawn! (Day Watch, Twilight Watch, I’m on Sunshine now… and my friend just offered to lend me her first Vampire Academy book…)

29/08 – I’m adding Ray Bradbury’s “Something Wicked This Way Comes” to my pool. Because “Fahrenheit 451” is one of my favorite books and Jen tells me I HAVE to read “Something Wicked This Way Comes.”

Leave a Reply

