thinking out loud

BTT: Stories

If you’re anything like me, one of your favorite reasons to read is for the story. Not for the character development and interaction. Not because of the descriptive, emotive powers of the writer. Not because of deep, literary meaning hidden beneath layers of metaphor. (Even though those are all good things.) No … it’s because you want to know what happens next?
Or, um, is it just me?

lt depends. For example, if I’m reading a romance book, (I love Nora Roberts and Julia Quinn) I wouldn’t be reading them for the story. Because I know the story. I’ve read the story a million times over. But Nora Roberts usually have very interesting characters, and I love the interaction between her characters (not just the hero and heroine; I usually fall for ALL her characters). And Julia Quinn is funny, and I read her for the banter between her characters. And the funny that happens when sometimes her historical characters say somewhat modern phrases.

For almost everything else, I go for story. I love stories. I think all stories are important to know. Of course, a well told story is always better, so character / great literary style / etc are all good side benefits to look for in a book that I want to read, but story is the first thing I look for. It’s not just what happens, but also how it happens. Yes. Stories are important.

~ originally posted on blogspot

Leave a Reply

