thinking out loud

Bawang Putih, Bawang Merah

I was just reading about Cinderella, and reading the Andrew Lang’s version and C.S. Evan’s version and Perrault’s version, and reading some articles on it online, when I found Yeh-hsien, the Chinese Cinderella story. I’ve heard of this story but have never read it until now. And I was amazed! Because it was amazingly similar to the Malay folktale, Bawang Putih, Bawang Merah (“White Onion, Red Onion”? Haha.) I wouldn’t have noticed how similar it was, since I’ve forgotten all but the bare bones of the story, but my mom recently told the story in its entirety to me (it goes on way after the part where Bawang Merah marries the prince, which is where most versions end) so it’s kind of fresh in my head at the moment.

Speaking of Malay folklore, my order for the one and only book I could find about it online has arrived – “Malay Folklore” by D Ruse. It’s still on reservation; can’t wait to buy it! It has “Bawang Putih, Bawang Merah” but the usual short version. :p

~ originally posted on blogspot

Leave a Reply

