thinking out loud

Another book meme

Found this meme at Care’s blog. The original post was from A Striped Armchair, however.

The book that’s been on your shelves the longest:
Definitely Walt Disney’s ABC Book. It’s in Malacca right now so I can’t scan the cover, and it’s out of print and the cover’s not on Amazon. I lost almost all of the books I had from when I was a kid, but I still have my ABC book! It’s a hardcover, but the covers had been torn off and taped back together, and there are all sorts of doodles and scribbles on it. I’m not sure where the doodles come from; neither my eldest brother nor I used to write in our books. My other brother was too busy burning his Hotwheels and my Barbie dolls to bother.

A book that reminds you of something specific in your life (a person, a place, a time, etc.)
Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist (Levithan & Cohn) reminds me of college – the whole falling in love thing, the friends, the music. Practically all the music mentioned were stuff I loved back then. The Perks of Being a Wallflower(Chbosky) reminds me of high school.

A book you acquired in some interesting way (gift, serendipity in a used bookstore, prize, etc.)
I think this would be Girl Goddess #9 (Block). Changed my life. I think I mentioned before that we didn’t have good bookstores when I was growing up. The Children section (there was no YA section before Kino came along) had Sweet Valley and Goosebumps and Animorphs books, which I read (everything but Goosebumps), but they were hardly satisfying. One day at Yaohan (of all places; the bookstore there was really crappy!) I found a copy Francesca Lia Block’s Girl Goddess #9 in between two Animorph books. That was the first time I experienced serendipity in a bookstore. I joined the Witchbaby e-group, I asked my brother or father to help me purchase good YA books online, stopped reading Sweet Valley and Animorphs (still loved Christopher Pike and L.J. Smith though!), started my first zine, and never looked back.

The most recent addition to your shelves:
Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister by Gregory Maguire, Fables: Legends in Exileby Bill Willingham, and Little Brother by Cory Doctorow. I buy a lot of books. I spend 80% of what I earn on books. When Care did the meme she mentioned that she didn’t keep books because she moved a lot; I’m the complete opposite. My family moved a lot when I was younger. We lived in LA until I was four, then moved back to Malaysia, where we’ve lived in Selayang, Wangsa Maju, Bangi, Sri Rampai, Melawati, and now in Taman Melati. There are probably a couple of moves that I’ve forgotten. I’ve been to so many schools I stopped bothering to make proper friends. I knew I’d end up having to leave them sooner or later. Anyway, because of the constant moving, my books were the only constant things. They were my “home”, so to speak. After high school my family have more or less “settled”, but I still hoard books and drag them with me everywhere I go.

A book that’s been with you to the most places:
Probably my copy of Dangerous Angels (Francesca Lia Block). I took it with me everywhere before, because I was always re-reading it. I brought it with me when I was in Norfolk for a year in 2001/2002, and I even brought it when I spent three months in Japan last year. (Wow, it’s been a year!) I was still crazy about it in 2002, so it was understandable, but I hardly read Block nowadays so I really brought it to Japan for comfort. :p

A bonus book that you want to talk about but doesn’t fit into the other questions:
No book in particular, but Diana Wynne Jones. I absolutely love her books, and it baffles me that not many Malaysians (that I know personally) read her! And these are people who love YA and/or Fantasy, and yet they never or rarely read her books. Why is that!? I fell in love with her work ever since I read Charmed Life. I was fifteen or sixteen at the time, and wished that I had found it when I was much younger. (There wasn’t a Kino when I was much younger, so there was no chance of that happening… but still!) It was thanks to the Witchbaby mailinglist that I tried Diana Wynne Jones, and many of the books I know count among my favourites. It’s really sad that the list doesn’t exist anymore.

~ originally posted on blogspot

Leave a Reply

