thinking out loud

Marineko Book Awards 2008

I read a total of 157 books this year. Not a lot, really (>_>). Divided by genre:

YA – 54 (21 of which are YA Fantasy)
Manga – 27
Fantasy – 22 (not including the YA Fantasy)
Picture Books – 16
Romance – 13
Literary Fiction – 9
Graphic Novels – 6
Non-Fiction – 4
Chic Lit – 3
Horror – 2
Science Fiction – 1
Erotica – 1

Looking at the list this way, it seems like I didn’t read that many books this year after all. My literary fiction count went up, though, compared to last year’s count of 1 book (lol).

Of the books I’ve read, 27 are re-reads.
I read 79 individual authors, 36 male, and 43 female. So I read more female than male authors this year!
I read 43 authors for the first time (New-To-Me authors) this year, including Stephenie Meyer, Patricia McKillip and Mercedes Lackey.

Of the 157 books, the 2008 Marineko Book Awards! 😄

Best Fantasy
The Ivory and the Horn, Charles de Lint

Best Fantasy (YA)
Fire & Hemlock, Diana Wynne Jones

Best YA (Non-Fantasy)
13 Reasons Why, Jay Asher

Best Romance
The Hollow, Nora Roberts

Best Chic Lit
Shopaholic Takes Manhattan, Sophie Kinsella

Best Literary Fiction
Life of Pi, Yann Martel

Best Non-Fiction
Persepolis, Marjane Satrapi

Best Manga Serial (Shojo)
Honey & Clover, Umino Chika

Best Manga Serial (Shonen)
Kurosagi Corpse Delivery Service, Otsuka Eiji & Yamazaki Housui
(technically “seinen” but I’m including it in the “shonen” category)

Best Graphic Novel
Persepolis, Marjane Satrapi

Best Re-Read
Tam Lin, Pamela Dean

Top 10 books that didn’t make into the above list
Alphabet of Thorn, Patricia McKillip
The Graveyard Book, Neil Gaiman
Someday This Pain Will Be Useful To You, Peter Cameron
Big Fat Manifesto, Susan Vaught
Kamikaze Girls, Novala Takemoto
The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Waol, Junot Diaz
The Fairy Godmother, Mercedes Lackey
Promises to Keep, Charles de Lint
Naomi & Ely’s No-Kiss List, David Levithan & Rachel Cohn
You Know Where To Find Me, Rachel Cohn

[edit] I forgot about the book challenges! I think I only joined 2 book challenges in 2008 – the R.I.P. III challenge and Fall Into Reading challenge. Both completed, although I didn’t do an “end” post for Fall Into Reading (I just edited the first post as I went through the challenge).

For 2009, I’ve signed up for Rhinoa’s Manga Reading Challenge and the 100+ reading challenge, and the Sci-Fi Experience 2009. I will be attempting at least 20 sci-fi books (I only read ONE sci-fi book this year!) and maybe I’ll try to finish R.A. Salvatore’s Drizzt series like my brother suggested. I just started re-reading The Hobbit, so I’ll probably re-read The Lord of the Rings after this. With so much to read, I think the few challenges I’ve taken on are enough – even though the 999 challenge is quite tempting!

Leave a Reply

