thinking out loud

Musing Mondays: Assigned Reading

How did you react to assigned reading when you were in school/university/college/etc? How do you think on these books now? What book were you ‘forced’ to read when you where in school that you’ve since reread and loved?

I ended up hating most of the books I was assigned in high school. We had that play, An Inspector Calls, which I still can’t stand. And The Pearl made me not want to touch Steinbeck at all until now. I think I probably would have liked To Kill A Mockingbird(Lee) and Things Fall Apart (Achebe) if I read them now, but I haven’t tried yet. Nothing could have made me hate Twelfth Night, though, which was our alternative play to An Inspector Calls (our school chose An Inspector Calls because Shakespeare would be “too hard”, but I studied Twelfth Night independently so that I could use it instead in my exams).

Some books, like Jane Eyre (Bronte), I used to love very much, and then studying it in college kind of spoiled the book for me. I can’t see it in the same way I used to. For the most part my college reading was different from high school, though – I ended up discovering new books/authors I love (like Leslea Newman, or Walt Whitman, both authors I never read before college), rather than hating the books.

~ originally posted on blogspot

Leave a Reply

