thinking out loud

BTT: Best Bad Book

The opposite of last week’s question: “What’s the best ‘worst’ book you’ve ever read — the one you like despite some negative reviews or features?”

Where do I start? There are just too many to mention! I’ve enjoyed a lot of fiction that are really not very good. When I was in my teens I liked the Sweet Valley Twins series (never really got on with the SVH series though!), and even now I sometimes indulge in those skinny Harlequin Presents volumes. I choose them based on the most funny titles I could find. You know, “The Italian Millionaire’s Housekeeper Bride”, etc. They really crack me up! I love them.

When it comes to regular fiction, I’ve enjoyed books like L.J. Smith’s Night World series and Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight saga. They really are badly written, and I cringe every time Bella talks about how perfect Edward was, but I still get very absorbed in the series. I’m not quite sure why, really. At least with the Night World series I could say that I love the characters (because I do), and the idea of the Night World (in the hands of a more competent storyteller, it could be really interesting!). But with the Twilight saga, I don’t really like Bella (too whiny) and Edward (too boring). I like Alice and Jasper, but they’re not really main characters. The prose is rather cringey. But I get really into the books anyway. There’s just… something. I don’t know what.

~ originally posted on blogspot

Leave a Reply

