thinking out loud

Books Read 04/12 – 04/17

Hey y’all. I’ve been like really sick the last four or five days. I’m not 100% okay now, but I’m okay enough to blog and go to work. I think. The thing about bed-rest is that it’s boring. It doesn’t matter that my head is so fuzzy that I can’t make out the words properly; not reading is still boring. Usually at times like this I choose books I’ve already read, so I could enjoy them without straining too much. I already sleep through half of the day almost every day. The rest of the time I watch about 5 or 6 episodes of Angel (season 2) or Buffy (season 5), and I read. I finished Carolyn Turgeon’s Godmother which I’m choosing for next month’s Gem of the Month promotion. I would’ve enjoyed it a lot more if I read it at another time, but it was pretty good.

After that I got Diana Wynne Jone’s Eight Days of Luke, which was a much better choice for the situation. I really love it a lot, although I only understand a little of the references. I should study more mythology, really. I also read the very short Horrible Histories: Groovy Greeks by Terry Deary (I read the Percy Jackson when I first got the book) and re-read Francesca Lia Block’s Girl Goddess #9. At first I was just going to re-read the title story, but I just had to read “Tweety Sweet Pea” and then I couldn’t resist “Blue”, and then I ended up reading the whole thing. It’s still my favourite Francesca Lia Block.

I really have no idea what I want to read now.

~ originally posted on blogspot

Leave a Reply

