Romance

Review: Vision in White by Nora Roberts

Oh, yay, finally a new Nora Roberts book that isn’t paranormal romance or a mystery. Usually with Nora Roberts I’d buy first and read much later – I only read 2 of the 3 “Sign of the Seven” books, and even though I have (well, my mom does) Angel Falls and Tribute I haven’t read them yet. But when I got my mom Vision in White it was different, because it goes back to the reason I liked Nora Roberts in the first place. It was a simple, no-frills romance.

This is the first of the Bride Quartet, which will be about four women – Mackensie, Parker, Laurel and Emmaline. The four of them are childhood friends and run a wedding planner business together. Mac (the heroine of this story) is the photographer, Parker does all the detail work, Laurel bakes cakes and other sweet things, and Emma is a florist and takes care of the flowers and wedding bouquets. One thing I love about Nora Roberts’ characters is that they’re passionate about their work. The only other romance book I’ve read this year (so far) is by Penny Jordan, and the heroine is a supermodel who doesn’t find her work fun at all because all she really wanted was to have a husband, child and a home to look after. It’s not that I think wanting those things is bad, but it really really angers me to think that that is all women are supposed to want. Like there isn’t more to life than that. Since Nora Roberts write romance novels, of course her characters find some sort of domestic bliss in the end, but they’re the kind of women who would give up the guy if it being with him meant giving up the work they love.

Mac/Mackensie is a photographer because she believes in moments, but not “happily-ever-after.” She does it for the thrill of capturing those happy moments, so that in pictures at least they live “ever after”. Carter, the English teacher she falls for, is nerdy and makes references to Shakespeare characters like they’re real people. My favourite scene in the book is when a student’s mother came to see him at school to thank him for engaging her son, and making him interested in learning. Mac and Carter fall in love, not in a magic & fireworks kind of way, but in a low key, let’s-date-and-see-what-happens kind of way. I kind of get why some of the regular customers at the store say they didn’t like Nora Roberts – the customers that say this usually go for the “How to Marry a Marquis”, “To Seduce a Scoundrel”, sensational regency romances. They’ll be looking for the whole fireworks stuff, and Nora Roberts doesn’t really do that much.

I’m really glad that Nora Roberts is going back to what she does best – writing about families and friends, and how everyone connects with each other. The only weird thing is even though I’ve been wishing for this for some time now, when I was reading this I was still expecting a murder mystery or supernatural element to suddenly pop out of nowhere, haha. I’d recommend this to fans of Nora Roberts’ older work, but if you’re new to her I would still say her Concannon sisters and Quinn brothers trilogies are her best.

~ originnaly posted on blogspot

Leave a Reply

