thinking out loud

Better than a warehouse sale!

Now and then Kinokuniya would hold a bargain buy thing on the mezzanine floor (arts & design section, used to be Page One). I really didn’t know it was starting today until I came in and was asked if I was buying books…

[this is the part where people who think I buy too many books should stop reading, cuz your comments will not be entertained! :p]

There were just too many interesting stuff, but I managed to limit myself… kind of. Here’s the list of my loot –

Gravitation Vol. 7 by Maki Murakami
I’ve really only read the first three volumes or so, since I stopped buying manga in English (and they don’t have Gravitation in Japanese here, boo!) but I don’t think that would be a problem as I’ve watched the anime dozens of times!

The Brothers Grimm by Jack Zipes
Oh, I’m so glad I found this! I went to the bargain buy twice, once before I start work and once during lunch break. I wasn’t going to go during the lunch break because I’ve already spent RM45 before work… but Kak Husnah changed my mind by reminding me that they keep opening new cartons. I was just going to look around a little bit, until I saw this and completely lost my mind.

The Year of Magical Thinking by Joan Didion
I’ve wanted to read this since I first started to work at Kino, and now I can!

Book of Writers Talking to Writers edited by Vendela Vida
Well, I’m a sucker for books-about-books. This seemed really cool.

Can Cows Walk Down Stairs? edited by Paul Heiney
I’ve always wanted one of these funny/interesting science books!

A History of the Holocaust by Rita Steinhardt Botwinick
A subject I’ve always wanted to really read about.

Classical Hindu Mythology edited by Cornelia Dummitt & J.A.B. van Buitenen
And another!

Buffy the Vampire Slayer Omnibus 1 by Joss Whedon
I’ll forever be indebted to Faizal who was the staff on duty at the bargain buy today, and put this aside for me when he saw it! Lol, I guess I’ve been very vocal about my Buffy obsession to everyone these days…

Return of the Last Gang in Town by Marcus Gray
It’s about The Clash! I was obsessed with them in college. Of course I want this.

SPIN: 20 Years of Alternative Music edited by Will Hermes with Sia Michel
I liked SPIN in high school and college. This collection of articles should be fun to read.

Kiss of the Spider Woman and Two Other Plays by Manuel Puig
This I got for my mom, who was looking for short-ish plays to use in her classroom.

Yokoland, an art/design book.
I got this for Jun Kit. Thought he might like it.

= total damage, RM95.

Leave a Reply

