thinking out loud

Weekly Geeks: One-Title Collection

Last year, I saw a movie, I think it was called Definitely, Maybe, that got me to thinking. In this movie, one of the girls was on a quest to find a particular copy of Jane Eyre, I forget now the specific reason why. But in the process of her search, she ended up with this massive collection of Jane Eyre books, from all sorts of places and years and styles. She had a shelf that went all the way around her room, filled with these wonderful Jane Eyre books.

It made me wish I had a collection like hers, a collection of one particular title, in all it’s various versions.

So, Weekly Geeksters, tell us, do you have a collection, (or are you starting a collection,) of one particular book title? If so, what’s your story? Why thatbook, and how many do you have, and what editions are they? Share pictures and give us all the details.

Or perhaps you dream about starting such a collection. What title would it be and what would it take for you to get motivated to start collecting?

Or maybe it’s the works of a particular author you collect (or want to collect) instead a certain book title?

I don’t have a huge collection like the Jane Eyre one mentioned (I wish I did, though!), but there are titles that I try to get in as many versions I could find. One of them is Madeleine L’Engle’s A Wrinkle In Time, which I wrote about in adifferent WG post. I have about 2 versions of the paperback editions, and recently found the hardcover. I also collect the rest of L’Engle’s Time Quartet (now released as a quintet, including An Acceptable Time) but besides A Wrinkle In Time, I only have the hardcovers for A Swiftly Tilting Planet and Many Waters.

There are other books that I own in multiple copies (usually only about 2 copies), which I wrote about here. I have Austens and Brontes in many editions, but I really haven’t been keeping track of them and a lot of them may even be lost (an excuse to buy new versions when they’re released). I also collect different editions of Grimm and Andersen fairy tales, but since they’re usually retold or translated by different people I’m not sure if it would still be considered the same exactly.

Leave a Reply

