thinking out loud

Penguin Warehouse Sale

I didn’t expect the warehouse sale to happen this year – I thought it was supposed to be a 3 or 4 year gap from the last sale, but then I read in the papers that the next sale is this month. I went with Jen, Az, Huda and Shida, and saw Tesvin when I was there – it’s fun to randomly meet people at places like this! I also met Mr. C, a regular customer of Ichigo’s, and briefly chatted with him.

In 2007 I didn’t notice the “Teen Reads” section on my first visit. Thankfully, this time I remembered to go there first. Anyway, the damage –

Beauty and the Beast by Samantha Easton & illustrated by Ruth Sanderson
I collect these little fairy tale books – so far I have The Little Mermaid and Sleeping Beauty, and now I have Beauty & the Beast!
Beyond the Spiderwick Chronicles Vol 1: The Nixie’s Song by Holly Black & Tony DiTerlizzi
Beyond the Spiderwick Chronicles Vol 2: A Giant Problem by Holly Black & Tony DiTerlizzi
I thought these were the actual Spiderwick Chronicles – didn’t read the titles properly before putting them in my stack. But that’s okay, I want to have all of Holly Black’s books eventually!
Indigara by Tanith Lee
I liked Tanith Lee’s White As Snow, and the cover was beautiful.
The Trumpet of the Swan by E.B. White
Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White
I’ve been meaning to read these for ages.
The Haunting of Cranite Falls by Eva Ibbotson
I’m only starting to read Eva Ibbotson and am collecting her books.
The Princess Bride by William Goldman
Can’t believe I don’t actually have this yet!
Outside Beauty by Cynthia Kadohata
I got Kira Kira and Weedflower in the 2007 warehouse sale, so I wanted this.
Pop Princess by Rachel Cohn
I heart Rachel Cohn.
Marly’s Ghost by David Levithan
And David Levithan.
The Frog Princess by E.D. Baker
I’ve been told this is good, so I want to read it.
The Obsidian Dagger by Catherine Webb
The Extraordinary and Unusual Adventures of Horatio Lyle by Catherine Webb
Been meaning to read these, too.
An Abundance of Katherines by John Green
I actually haven’t read John Green yet, although Nymeth’s blog makes me want to so much.
Geek Charming by Robin Parker
Cindy Ella by Robin Parker
These books look interesting and funny.
The Umbrella Man & Other Stories by Roald Dahl
A Roald Dahl book that I don’t have! Yay!
The Dream Maker’s Magic by Sharon Shinn
This book is not in the photo because even though I remember purchasing it and it being on the top of my book bag today, I can’t seem to find it now. I think it might have dropped out of the bag while in Az’s car. I’ll know for sure tomorrow.

 

These books, I bought as gifts –

The Right Attitude to Rain by Alexander McCall Smith
The World According to Bertie by Alexander McCall Smith
Edmund Bertram’s Diary by Amanda Grange
Children of Jihad by Jared Cohen

These are for my parents – I’ve been trying to get my dad to branch out from the No.1 Ladies Detective series, as he’s read all of those, and my mom likes books about Austen’s characters. They both enjoy nonfiction, and Children of Jihadseemed interesting to me.

Little (Grrrl) Lost by Charles de Lint

This is for Ichigo – I like to give her YA & Children’s books I love.

 

…altogether 24 books for RM295 (around $85.14 US dollars). That’s an average of RM12.29 ($3.55 US dollars) per book. Not bad, huh?

~ originally posted on blogspot

Leave a Reply

