Fantasy · Non-Fiction

Reading Log: March 2011

Looking back at the list of books I read in March, I was surprised by how little I read last month. I felt like I was reading all the time. I continued reading Hiroya Oku’s GANTZ– this time no longer re-reading, but continuing from where I last left off. I read through volumes 21 to 26, and I think if it wasn’t for the fact that I’m swamped with assignments, fics to write, and reading for work, I would have continued reading until the latest volume. But then again, maybe I wouldn’t, because it’d be sad to not have any more volumes to read. GANTZ is just too addictive. I also finished reading the fourth volume of Yoshinaga Fumi’s Ooku, which I’ve been taking my time reading throughout some of February and all of March.


Since I didn’t have to read any GotM titles for March, I had more freedom in what to read. I started out with Dreamhunter and Dreamquake by Elizabeth Knox. The premise of these books is very interesting, and I love how the world is fleshed out without ignoring characterisation or plot. I did feel like I got a bit lost towards the end of the second book, but it was probably more due to the fact that I was suddenly craving non-fiction than any fault of the book itself.

Kiddo brought to my attention this wonderful book by Stephanie Staal, Reading Women, which is both a memoir and a book about books – about the classic feminist texts, to be exact. I bought it and dived into it immediately, and it reminded me so much of those riot grrrl days. I ended up with a long list of books I wanted to read and/or purchase by the time I was done with it. It also had me craving for more books that reminded me of high school and college, so of course I went and bought Sarah Marcus’ Girls to the Front. I’ve only wanted to read ever since I heard about it last year. It tells the history of riot grrrl – not just the inspiring parts, but also the problems and conflicts within the community/movement. I wished that there would be more on Asian riot grrrls, and even riot grrrls in Asia, but I suppose that would be too much to ask. Actually, that was also my problem with Reading Women – when I went through the list of books Staal read for her classes, I saw that there were several titles that weren’t about white, middle-class women, but none of these were discussed in her book. I suppose that they weren’t relevant to her, as she’s writing it as a memoir, but I would have liked to know what she thought of those books.

As for books I normally wouldn’t read, I went through two of Anthony Browne’s picture books, The Tunnel and Piggybook, as well as Oedipus Rex. I absolutely loved the picture books – actually, I’ve been reading them more and more lately, so I’m not sure if they still classify as a kind of book I don’t usually read. Oedipus Rex was for class, and, well. It’s interesting to revisit it now, compared to when I read it as a kid, I suppose. It’s also interesting to note that no one else in class was familiar with the mythology in the play; it makes me wonder if I had a particular peculiar childhood or something.

~ originally posted on livejournal

Leave a Reply

