thinking out loud

WWW Wednesdays (August 29th)

What are you currently reading?
I’m reading Dan Wells’ Partials, which I am enjoying very much. I usually love dystopian fiction, and dystopian YA especially, but I guess I’m loving Partials more than most. Dan Wells is really good with writing troubled protagonists in a way that gets you into their heads, and sympathise with them even as you find their thoughts disturbing. I wondered how he would do with Kira, because this would his first female protagonist. And… I love her. Her story is written in third person instead of first, and unlike his previous characters she isn’t, erm, psychologically challenged, but she’s a young girl in a very difficult situation, who would rather risk her life to save her friend’s child (and to escape legally enforced impregnation) than be safe/protected by her boyfriend. Definitely more Buffy than Bella. I approve.

What did you recently finish reading?
The last book I finished is Rinsai Rossetti’s The Girl With Borrowed Wings, which I also loved a lot, with a character I liked, for very different reasons. I’m not so sure I would recommend this book to everyone, because the reasons why I liked this so much is very personal, but I would say that it’s beautifully written, engaging, and somewhat different from the typical YA fare.

What do you think you’ll read next?
Right now I’m eyeing quite a few books, including Lilith Saintcrow’s The Iron Wyrm Affair and Tiffany Trent’s The Unnaturalist. In the mood for steampunk! Other books I’m looking at are Fuminori Nakamura’s The Thief, and Fandom Unbound by Mizuko Ito, Daisuke Okabe, and Izumi Tsuji.

WWW Wednesdays

Leave a Reply

