thinking out loud

Musing Mondays: What I’m Reading

More than anything else, I would really like to blog more regularly, at least as much as I used to, because I’ve been on Tumblr way too much. I can’t seem to take the time to do actual book reviews, though, because I do a lot of that for work already. So it seems like for now at least, these weekly things give me something to write about, without making me feel too overwhelmed about it.

Right now I’m reading an ARC of Taiye Selasi’s Ghana Must Go. I found it waiting on my desk at work when I came in after having a few days off; I’m guessing Penguin came by and left it (thanks, Jacky!). If you know me you’d probably realise that it’s not the kind of book I’d normally pick up for myself, at least in my current state. “My current state” meaning – I’m a YA & SF/F buyer, who’s also in grad school (or just graduated, really) where I do a lot of readings on feminist theory and folklore. So I’ve been reading a lot of books that concern my work, or school – with a LOT of manga and children’s picture books (technically also “work”, but mostly because I need short reads that are also good to keep me sane) in between. Ghana Must Go, while a title that might interest me still, isn’t really a title I would pick up right now. Normally.

But I was reading an interview with Selasi in one of the many papers, catalogues and sellsheets on my desk – can’t recall which one it is, now, maybe it was in the Bookseller! – and it talked about her friendship with Toni Morrison and about being displaced or not belonging or perhaps belonging to many places at once, and while the former intrigued me the latter made me go, yes! That’s what I need to read about! That’s what I need RIGHT NOW! and I told my friends and fellow buyers that I want to read Ghana Must Go. I suppose one of them might have told Jacky, because I hadn’t, and didn’t think to, until I walked into my office and found this beautiful, beautiful book on my desk.

I’m loving it a lot. I’m also very biased, so I don’t know if I can talk about the book much. But I do love it, and even now it’s on my desk just waiting for work to be over so that I could pick it up again.

-> Musing Mondays

Leave a Reply

