thinking out loud

WWW Wednesdays (March 13th)

 

• What are you currently reading?

Take A Bow by Elizabeth Eulberg. It’s a YA novel set in a performing arts school, and reads like it could be a fun teen movie, which is probably one of my favourite kinds of movies. It changes POVs between four main characters – Sophie, an ambitious singer who would do anything and use anyone to get what she wants; Emme, her best friend who lives in her shadow, and composes all her songs; Carter, Sophie’s boyfriend who used to be a child star; and Ethan, a broody type of guy who’s in a band with Emme. I’m only a couple of chapters in, so I can’t say how good it is yet, but it is fun so far 🙂

 

 

 

• What did you recently finish reading?

The Trouble With Flirting by Claire LaZebnik. I got this because my sister read one of her other books, Epic Fail, and LOVED it. I still haven’t read that one yet, but my sister tells me it’s a retelling of Pride and Prejudice. The Trouble With Flirting is also an Austen retelling, this time taking onMansfield Park, with a twist. I won’t say what it is (although it’s probably easy to guess; it IS a YA romance) but I will recommend it to anyone who enjoyed Epic Fail, YA romances, or Austen retellings.

 

 

 

 

• What do you think you’ll read next?

Rock On by Denise Vega. Because I was pretty interested in it when it was in hardback, and now the paperback’s out, so why not? Also The Trouble With Flirting was set during a theatre programme, and Take A Bow takes place in a performing arts school, so I wanted something where the protagonist is equally passionate about something – andRock On‘s MC, Ori, is a singer/guitarist/songwriter of a band. Yay.

 

 

 

–> WWW Wednesdays

Leave a Reply

