thinking out loud

WWW Wednesdays (March 27th)

• What are you currently reading?

The Mark of Athena, by Rick Riordan. One of the sad things about my work is that I’m always starting or intending to start new series (to figure out if they’re worth promoting, as well as for the pleasure of it) and not having enough time to finish any of them. I probably wouldn’t have continued with the Heroes of Olympus books if it wasn’t for Genne lending me her copies and making me read them. (I’m very grateful to Genne for that!) I’m halfway throughThe Mark of Athena right now, and it’s definitely my favourite among the Percy Jackson books so far (including both this and the first series).

 

 

• What did you recently finish reading?

xxxHOLiC (1), by CLAMP. I went through a CLAMP phase once, when I was much younger. Unfortunately that phase ended right when xxxHOLiC started serialising. I thought it looked interesting, but I never picked it up, until I started watching the live action drama that’s currently airing. (I really recommend the drama, btw!) Somehow the manga didn’t have the same creepy feel that the live action did for me, but I still enjoyed the cautionary tales and the fact that Yuko is a dimensional witch, something that wasn’t quite clear in the drama. The manga made it clear that it’s set in a multiverse, which makes Yuko a Chrestomanci of sorts…? I guess I must read on to know more.

 

 

• What do you think you’ll read next?

Besides the following volumes of xxxHOLiC? The Brides of Rollrock Island by Margo Lanagan, probably. It’s been on my list for a long time (ever since I read a mention that she was working on a book on selkies), and I’m getting impatient to read it 🙂

 

–> WWW Wednesdays

Leave a Reply

