thinking out loud

WWW Wednesdays (June 12th)

• What are you currently reading?
I am reading three books, mainly – Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, The Secret of the Nagas by Amish Tripathy, and The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman. Enjoying all of them immensely. Americanahis actually my first by Adichie, even though I own Half of a Yellow Sun. I kept meaning to read it but didn’t, and now I wonder why because she’s absolutely brilliant. The Secret of the Nagas is just as interesting as the first book in the Shiva trilogy, and I’m actually very into one of the romance sub-plots right now – and I rarely like any of the romantic plots or sub-plots in the books I read. The Neil… well. It’s by Neil Gaiman. What else do you need to know?

• What did you recently finish reading?
Fortunately, the Milk by Neil Gaiman. Which is, admittedly, a short read. It’s also very funny and I absolutely recommend it! I think it’s very much a “dad” book, and can imagine my brother reading to my niece all too easily. Before that, I read Margaret Stohl’s Icons, which I picked up without reading the synopsis because I liked the Caster Chronicles (by Stohl & Kami Garcia) and when she came to our store a couple of years ago she was really nice. Icons is about aliens, so I might not have picked it up otherwise, but I’m so glad I did because (1) I do enjoy Stohl’s writing, (2) I love her characters, and (3) they’re PoC! Huge plus, that. I was hugging the book with joy when I realised it.

• What do you think you’ll read next?
Next in my list… I already have Amish Tripathy’s Oath of the Vayaputras waiting on my shelves, as well An Unquiet Mind by Kay Redfield Jamison (Ellen Forney’s Marbles put this in my radar sometime ago). And the first volume ofSunny, the new Matsumoto Taiyo. I also have a few YA dystopias that I’ve been meaning to read for sometime now, so I’m not sure which I’ll read first.

-> WWW Wednesdays

Leave a Reply

