Monthly Books

September’s Books

  • 弱虫ペダル (30)  by  渡辺 航
  • Play Me Backwards by Adam Selzer
  • Highfell Grimoires by Langley Hyde
  • Exquisite Captive by Heather Demetrios
  • I Kill the Mockingbird by Paul Acampora
  • Echoes of Silence by Chuah Guat Eng
  • ハイキュー!! (5) by 古舘 春一
  • ハイキュー!! (6) by 古舘 春一
  • ハイキュー!! (7) by 古舘 春一
  • ハイキュー!! (8) by 古舘 春一
  • ハイキュー!! (9) by 古舘 春一
  • ハイキュー!! (10) by 古舘 春一
  • ハイキュー!! (11) by 古舘 春一
  • ハイキュー!! (12) by 古舘 春一
  • 弱虫ペダル (31) by  渡辺 航
  • What Did You Eat Yesterday? (4) by Yoshinaga Fumi
  • Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang
  • ベイビーステップ (1) by 勝木光
  • Rooms by Lauren Oliver
  • Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins
  • 弱虫ペダル (32) by  渡辺 航
  • Julia, Child by Kyo Maclear & Isabelle Arsenault (illus.)
  • Virginia Wolf by Kyo Maclear & Julie Morstad (illust.)
  • Landline by Rainbow Rowell
  • The Best Book in the World by Rilla Alexander
  • Spirits Abroad by Zen Cho
  • 弱虫ペダル (33) by  渡辺 航
  • The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith
  • The Swap by Megan Shull
  • Anatomy of a Misfit by Andrea Portes

Obviously, I read a LOT of manga in September. I think I’ll probably continue reading a lot of manga throughout October, because I’m really on a sports manga kick right now.  The manga I read this month are Haikyuu!! (volleyball), Yowamushi Pedal (cycling), and Baby Steps (tennis). This month I may start reading Ookiku Furikabutte (baseball), which I am excited about. I just enjoy the sports manga formula – I get out of them what a lot of people I know get out of romance novels, I guess. If I’ve the habit of feeling guilty over what I read, I’d call sports manga my favourite guilty pleasure. But really, what’s there to be guilty about? Sports manga are awesome! And also I’m already reading a lot of things that people in general have looked down on (YA, SFF), so I really don’t care.

My favourite read of the month is probably… Isla and the Happily Ever After. I just love Stephanie Perkins’ contemporary romances, and am looking forward to see how she’s going to tackle the YA horror genre with her next novel. And then there’s I Kill the Mockingbird and The Swap, both very good middle grade titles (although The Swap is shelved as YA at our store, because many Malaysian parents complain if middle grade titles mention boyfriends/girlfriends, crushes or kissing.)

I guess it’s interesting to note that I read two local titles last month – Chuah Guat Eng’s Echoes of Silence, and Zen Cho’s Spirits Abroad. Both are for the local fiction reading group, and my reaction to the former was mostly “hmmm… okay, lah, I guess”, while my reaction to the latter is, “WANT. MOAR!” Personal preferences, probably. Since the latter is a fantasy collection, and the former is a historical mystery (things I dislike, times two!).

– previously posted on Weebly

Leave a Reply

