thinking out loud

Thinking Out Loud / November 10th

bookstack

For Musing Mondays, a meme where we write our recent bookish musings, books I recently added to my shelves:

* ハウルの動く城1 魔法使いハウルと火の悪魔 by Diana Wynne Jones
This is Howl’s Moving Castle; I read this interesting report on the translation of this book from the DWJ con, and it made me want to read the translated version. I don’t know, I haven’t started yet of course, and probably wouldn’t til I get to HMC in my rereads, but I’m already looking at other translated DWJs that I might want to read.

* 四月は君の嘘(10) by 新川直司
Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso (10), by Naoshi Arakawa. I’ve only read this up to the sixth volume, so really I was looking for volumes 7 onwards. But Kinokuniya only had this, so I placed an order for the other volumes and bought this first. I shall have to resist reading it out of order, although I did peek into this volume (and got a major spoiler, ugh.)

* Snow White and Rose Red by Patricia Wrede
Part of Terri Windling’s Fairy Tale series. This book has been reprinted, but I think the reprint didn’t include the introduction, which is my favourite thing about the series in the first place. The first book I read from this series was Pamela Dean’s Tam Lin and I liked the introduction enough to search for other Tam Lin retellings, as well as other books edited by Terri Windling, something that I’ll always be glad I did.

* Minor Arcana by Diana Wynne Jones
Really, I only ordered this because of “The True State of Affairs”. Of course, it’s only after that that I found it it’s available on its own in Japanese D:

* Arrows of Eros, edited by Alex Stewart
This, too, I got just for the Diana Wynne Jones story – “Mela Worms”.

* Life on the Border, edited by Terri Windling
Okay, I guess I’ve read books edited by Terri Windling before Tam Lin. I did read this in high school. But I didn’t remember any of the authors in it, and only recently I’ve become obsessed with looking for these books I used to love.

* Althea & Oliver, Christina Moracho
This was a review copy I requested for. I was interested because the blurb mentioned that it’s all punk music, mixtapes and zines… well, it’s not. At all. I will write a post on this book one of these days.

* The Dragon Book, edited by Jack Dann & Gardner Dozois
Another anthology that I got for the DWJ short story. I’m not much of a short story reader, but a lot of authors I like are in this one, so I’m looking forward to reading it 🙂

– crossposted from Weebly

3 thoughts on “Thinking Out Loud / November 10th

    1. I always take ages when it comes to short story collections. I’d read a few stories in a row, and then put the book aside for weeks or months (or years) before picking them up and reading some of the others – or just rereading the ones I’ve already read.

      Like

      1. They can be a real ragbag, can’t they? Even when united by a theme a collection as a whole can be very uneven, individual pieces varying hugely in tone, language, approach and quality. I much prefer single author collections to multiple author anthologies but sometimes the latter are the only place to catch up on a favourite writer like DWJ.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

