thinking out loud

2014 End-of-Year Book Survey

Since it’s going to take some time for me to do my usual end-of-year posts and stats this year, here’s a handy survey from Jamie of Perpetual Page Turner!

2014 Reading Stats
Number of Books Read: 378, (+ maybe 5-10 more that I didn’t register on GR)
Number of Re-Reads: 12
Genre I Read the Most From: Fantasy, YA


Best In Books

1. Best Book You Read In 2014?
This is usually difficult, but this year, it’s so very easy to answer – The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison.

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?
Anatomy of a Misfit by Andrea Portes. It’s not that I didn’t enjoy it, because I did, but it really fell below expectations.

3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read in 2014? 
The Distance Between Us by Kasie West. I don’t know why it surprised me, because I loved Kasie West’s Pivot Point, but it did. I liked it so much more than I thought I would.

4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did) In 2014?
The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison, Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie (a 2013 book, but I read and “pushed” it this year), I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson, We Were Liars by E. Lockhart. Planned promotions around these books, and sold a lot of them *happy*

5. Best series you started in 2014? Best Sequel of 2014? Best Series Ender of 2014?
Best series I started: Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie.
Best sequel I read: Her Dark Curiosity by Megan Shepherd.
Best series ender: Ruins by Dan Wells.

6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2014?
Ann Leckie. And Katherine Addison, if she counts as a “new author”. (I’ve read and loved her books as Sarah Monette before this.)

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?
Ms. Marvel Vol.1: No Normal, by G. Willow Wilson & Adrian Alphona. Because after high school (really after I hit 16), I hardly read mainstream American comics. And yet I was immediately drawn to this title, and am waiting for the next volume. (The comic shop near my place doesn’t sell Ms. Marvel single issues T_T)

8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?
Most unputdownable would be The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison, but it’s not at all action-packed. The most action-packed book I read in 2014 is probably Endgame: The Calling by James Frey. (Which I can put down very easily, but that’s the case with me and action-packed books.)

9. Book You Read In 2014 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?
Ms. Marvel Vol.1: No Normal, by G. Willow Wilson & Adrian Alphona. I will probably re-read in in March when Vol 2 is out.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2014?
goblinemperor everythingleadstoyou illgiveyouthesun nonormal

11. Most memorable character of 2014?
Maia from The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison.
Breq from Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie.

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2014?
Sorrow’s Knot by Erin Bow.

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2014?
Behind the Beautiful Forevers by Katherine Boo. Not published this year, but I read it this year.

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2014 to finally read?
The Secret Country by Pamela Dean. And also Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie, but at least in the case of Ancillary Justice I only waited a year(ish).

15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2014?
Oh my. I can’t possibly pick one. Most of the ones I highlighted in reviews, or used in my Tuesday Teasers, would probably qualify.

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2013?
Shortest: any of the picture books, I guess.
Longest: Thief’s Magic by Trudi Canavan (I think. I may be wrong.)

17. Book That Shocked You The Most
Maybe We Were Liars by E. Lockhart – the ending affected me, despite me expecting it.

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)
Magnus Bane x Alec Lightwood from The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan and Maureen Johnson.
Patty x Bee (x Michael) from My Real Children by Jo Walton

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year
Breq x Seivarden from Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2014 From An Author You’ve Read Previously
The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison, if her works as Sarah Monette counts.
Also My Real Children by Jo Walton.

21. Best Book You Read In 2014 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:
Spirits Abroad by Zen Cho.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2014?
Breq from Ancillary Justice. Patty from My Real Children. Rei from the 3gatsu no Lion manga series.

23. Best 2014 debut you read?
Honestly, I don’t remember which books are debuts. I looked at the books I gave 5-stars to on GR, and they’re all definitely not debuts. So – probably Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge, unless I’m missing something or Katherine Addison writing under a new name counts as a debut.

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?
Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie.

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?
ALL THE DIANA WYNNE JONES.

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2014?
I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson, We Were Liars by E. Lockhart,

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?
I don’t know if any of my favourites from this year can count as a “hidden” gem, but as far as the response from readers where I live is concerned… then The Goblin Emperor and My Real Children. Because most of the SFF readers here only buy slash-and-hack fantasies and Warhammer 40K books, so anything else would be “niche.”

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?
I would like to think that my soul is not quite crushed, yet. But We Were Liars by E. Lockhart did come close.

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2014?
The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison. Although I still don’t know if “unique” is quite the right word for it. It probably isn’t. But it’s a breath of fresh air after all the grimdark fantasies.

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?
Exquisite Captive by Heather Demetrios. Oh, the cultural appropriation here.


Blogging/Bookish Life

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2014?
Calmgrove and Emerald City Book Review, both of which I discovered thanks to Witch Week!

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2014?
Can’t think of a favourite.

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?
Again, can’t think of one.

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?
My favourite would definitely be Witch Week, hosted by Emerald City Book Review.

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2014?
Starting to blog again, after being mostly absent for a few years.

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?
Haha. Probably my DWJ Mini Zine Giveaway post. Which was for Witch Week.

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?
Really, I’m grateful for whatever amount of love my posts have 😀

9. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?
Kitazawa Bookstore, this store on top of Book House that I’ve always noticed but never went into before this year. I wish I’m visiting Tokyo next year so that I could go book hunting there, but alas, all my scheduled Japan trips are to the Kansai area.

10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?
I wanted to read at least 100 books. I read over 300. I guess that’s an achievement of some sort?


Looking Ahead

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2014 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2015?
Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan maybe, although my Number 1 priority would probably be Ancillary Sword, the book I’m reading right now.

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2015 (non-debut)?
Too many! The Just City by Jo Walton, Ms. Marvel Vol. 2: Generation Why by G. Willow Wilson, Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard (which I’ve recently read and is AWESOME, but yeah it was one of my most anticipated of 2015), The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black (another that I ended up reading recently, but is a 2015 title), and a long list of YA contemporary fiction…

3. 2015 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?
Again, I don’t usually pay attention to whether a book is a debut or not. The first book I can think of is My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga, which is one of the YA contemporaries I’m anticipating.

4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2015?
Ancillary Mercy! Also the sequel to Amy Ewing’s The Jewel; is that supposed to be out next year? And Shadow Scale, the sequel to Seraphina.

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2015?
I hope to continue blogging. I’ve mentioned that I’ve been absent for the most of the last few years – since around 2009, probably, which also marks the time I started getting really serious about the Arashi fandom. Hmm. So, since this year is technically the year I plan to “graduate” from that fandom (not that I would stop being a fan, ever. It’s just in terms of time investment, etc.) I hope that I won’t abandon my blog again. Getting to know more book bloggers and having people (outside of work) to talk books with would be cool, too 🙂

6. A 2015 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:
Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard – this seriously exceeds expectations. And The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black, which is everything I love about Holly Black’s books. And Nimona by Noelle Stevenson, probably my favourite web-comic, which is finally going to be in print next May.

5 thoughts on “2014 End-of-Year Book Survey

Leave a Reply

