thinking out loud

Top Ten Bookish Goals for 2015

toptentuesday1. Keep up with the DWJ Re-Read Project
Sometimes, these things are easier said than done. Right now I still feel excited about reading the rest of DWJ’s books, and writing about it, but I’m also aware that this will take a long time, and I may get lazier as it goes on. So one of my 2015 goals is to not give up, no matter what!

2. Join more events/challenges
I’ve signed up for the Sci-Fi Experience this January (a quick look at my blogspot showed me that the last time I joined it was in 2009) and the Re-Read Challenge throughout this year, but I also hope to participate in more events/challenges as they come.

3. Host/attend more bookish events
This… isn’t entirely up to me, but I guess listing it as a goal means saying “no” to less opportunities? Being in Malaysia, we don’t have that many literary events, but I will try to go to the ones I can.

4. Make a dent in my TBR
This is a really hard thing to do, as I acquire books faster than I read them these days. This would go hand-in-hand with goal #5!

5. Buy less books?
Question mark, because I doubt my ability to do this. I do buy less books lately, thanks to all the ARCs and review copies, but it’s still hard to resist buying when I see all these shiny new (and not-so-new, but awesome and therefore highlighted by us/our staff) titles every day.

6. Read more local fiction!
I had this goal last year, too. I think I did read more local fiction in 2014 when compared to 2013, but I still don’t read enough, so this goal stays.

7. Read more children’s classics that I’ve never read before.
There are a lot of these, since I’m also including modern classics. And there’s the fact that as a kid, I didn’t really have a lot of books for children – usually when I say I’ve read something when I was younger, I meant from I was 14 onwards. Before that, I mostly read my mother’s books (she studied and taught English lit, so it was mostly her class texts). So there are a lot of books that I haven’t read and want to read.

8. Cull my library.
I don’t do this often, but I think it’s time.

9. Get more bookshelves.
I think my graphic novels and non-fiction really need separate shelves, because I’m buying more and more of both these days. I also don’t have a shelf for my middle-grade fiction, which are currently scattered in my YA and fantasy shelves. Related goal: reorganise my shelves!

10. Do this challenge that Salwa asked me to do.
Self-explanatory 🙂

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Bookish Goals for 2015

Leave a Reply

