thinking out loud

Top Ten Most Anticipated Debut Novels For 2015

もずねこtttb

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. I’ve mentioned before that I don’t pay attention to whether or not the books I read/want to read are debuts. So for this post, I basically looked for 2015 YA debuts, and picked out the ones that were also in my “want” list. Listed here in order of publication:

playlistforthedeadmyheartandotherblackholesmosquitolandsimonvshomosapiensnoneoftheabove
emberintheasheswrathandthedawn5to1helloiloveyoumorehappythannot

Playlist for the Dead | Michelle Falkoff (HarperTeen, January 27th)
This is coming out soon 😀 This book was compared to Thirteen Reasons Why, which I liked. And the synopsis mentions a playlist, which I like.

My Heart and Other Black Holes | Jasmine Warga (Balzer + Bray, February 10th)
I was originally interested in this because of the title. The cover’s nice, too. And I read a lot of YA problem novels, especially ones that deal with mental illness and/or suicide, and this seems to fit the bill.

Mosquitoland | David Arnold (Viking Juvenile, March 3rd)
I like road trip stories, and I’ve read a lot of good things about this one. And the cover – I like!

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda | Becky Albertalli (Balzer + Bray, April 7th)
Again, I was interested because of the cover and title at first. Then I read the synopsis, and saw that the protagonist is a queer teen, so this is a definite yes for me.

None of the Above | I.W. Gregorio (Balzer + Bray, April 7th)
A book about a teen finding out she’s actually intersexed, and what happens after.

An Ember in the Ashes | Sabaa Tahir (Razorbill, April 28th)
Set in “a terrifyingly brutal Rome-like world”, Laia goes undercover as a slave to save her brother, who had been accused of treason, from execution. This isn’t the kind of fiction that I usually find interesting, but I am interested in reading Sabaa Tahir.

The Wrath and the Dawn | Renee Ahdieh (Putnam Juvenile, May 12th)
Inspired by A Thousand and One Nights! Honestly, I can think of many ways this could go wrong, but I still look forward to seeing how it turns out.

5 to 1 | Holly Bodger (Knopf, May 12th)
A dystopian YA set in future India, concerning gender imbalance. Something I’d like to read, yes. I’m hoping it’ll be as good as it looks.

Hello, I Love You | Katie M. Stout (St. Martin’s Griffin, June 9th)
An American teen runs away to a Korean boarding school and falls in love with a K-Pop star. I’m not a fan of K-Pop (very much the opposite), but this is a book that I plan to read before I make further judgements – and I know many K-Pop fans that would snap this up, so as a bookseller I’m looking forward to check this out.

More Happy Than Not | Adam Silvera (Soho Teen, June 16th)
Queer POC protagonist! Finding intersectionally diverse characters are even harder than finding diverse characters in books, so that alone made me interested in reading this. But it’s also a spec fic compared to Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, so I have high hopes.

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Most Anticipated Debut Novels For 2015

  1. I love your list and that it features so many books with queer characters! More Happy Than Not is high up on my list of books to read this year mainly because the plot sounds so interesting, but partly because intersectionality in the books I read is so so rare. I’m also really looking forward to None of the Above.

    Like

    1. I’m hoping it’ll be at least half as good as Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, but I’m trying to keep in mind that More Happy Than Not is also an SF. Can’t wait for it to be out! None of the Above is also high on my list, since I can’t remember reading a YA about an intersexed character before.

      Like

Leave a Reply

