thinking out loud

Top Ten Books/Authors/Series That Jo Walton Made Me Want to Read

もずねこtttb

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Brokish. This week’s theme is a freebie, and I wasn’t sure what to write about, until I thought about how much I’m enjoying my current read, and agree with most of what Jo Walton wrote that made me want to read it in the first place. And that made me think of all the other books I’ve read or want to read because of Jo Walton’s books or column on Tor.com, and so here’s my Top Ten Books/Authors/Series That Jo Walton Made Me Want To Read.

1. Samuel R. Delany
I knew of Delany, of course, but I never really thought of myself as someone that might enjoy SF until I read Jo Walton’s Among Others, and found myself wanting to read all of Mori’s books. And Mori was obsessed with many authors, Delany being one of them, and one of the ones I wanted to read the most. And then there’s the post by Walton on Stars In My Pocket Like Grains of Sand which made me look it up on abebooks immediately (of course most of the books in the Jo Walton Reads column are out of print) and am now reading.

2. Ursula K. Le Guin’s SF
I’ve read Le Guin before discovering Walton, but only the Earthsea books. And I liked them a lot, but not the way Mori (from Walton’s Among Others) loved The Wind’s Twelve Quarters. And that made me want to read that collection (which I bought, but have yet to start on.) It made me start on some of Le Guin’s Hainish books – something I’m very glad for.

3. Eleanor Arnason’s A Woman of the Iron People
Of course one of the reasons I like Le Guin’s SF is because they’re really sort of anthropological SF, which Walton wrote about in her post on A Woman of the Iron People. And now I have the book in my abebooks cart, for “one day”.

4. Penelope Farmer’s Charlotte Sometimes
I’ve been aware of and mildly interested in this title for awhile, but what made me really want to read it (hopefully sometime this year) is Jo Walton’s My Real Children. I looked it up on her column after, and found this post on the book.

5. Maureen F. McHugh
I probably wouldn’t be aware of Maureen McHugh if it wasn’t for Jo Walton’s post on Half the Day is Night – which is, unfortunately, out of print. But it made me look McHugh up and bring in her in-print and POD titles to my SF section at the store where I work.

6. Nina Kiriki Hoffman
One of those authors that I’ve been a bit interested in but never enough to actively find her books, until I read Walton’s post on The Silent Strength of Stones, which made me look up The Thread That Binds the Bones, which I loved. This year I’m planning to get Spirits That Walk in Shadow.

7. The Vlad Taltos books
I’ve never wanted to read these, and would never think I’d want to read these – until I read Walton’s column. Now, it’s almost always at the back of my mind. My only reservation is the fact that it’s a long, long series and I already have too many books in my TBR. One of these days I’m going to give in and start.

8. Connie Willis
It goes like this – while I’m okay with time travel stories, I’m not too keen of stories where people travel into the past because I’m not too keen on stories with a historical setting. But it turns out that I love Jo Walton’s writing even when it’s historical (or even historical-ish), and the same goes with Pamela Dean, and Jo Walton loves Pamela Dean and Connie Willis, so I probably would love Connie Willis…?

9. The Expanse Universe series by James S.A. Corey
Walton really makes me want to read all sort of stuff I usually won’t read. This is one of them. It’s space opera, it’s hard SF, and yet. She makes me want to read it so much!

10. The Union-Alliance books by C.J. Cherryh
See point #7 🙂

* The column I keep talking about is Jo Walton Reads on Tor.com – selected pieces from it have also been collected in What Makes This Book So Great. Right now I’m really looking forward to her January release, The Just City, which I have on order but have yet to arrive.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Books/Authors/Series That Jo Walton Made Me Want to Read

    1. That just makes me want to read Connie Willis even more 😀 Yes, What Makes This Book So Great is a dangerous thing to read. I had so many books on order before I was halfway through.

      Like

  1. Alliance/Union is of variable quality, and can be quite hard going. It’s easy to bounce off it. Cyteen is by far the best, but really benefits from the context of having read some of the other ones first. Downbelow Station is probably the best starting point, but don’t give up on the series if you can’t get into it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

