thinking out loud

All-time Favourite Books I Read in the Last Three Years

もずねこtttb

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week I’m doing my TTT on a Wednesday, I know. The theme is for the all-time favourite books I read in the last three years. I’m taking this to mean books I read in 2012, 2013, and 2014, whether or not the books are published in those years. I am not including rereads, because otherwise half of the list will be DWJ, and that wouldn’t be very fun, would it?

The Goblin Emperor, Katherine Addison
I read this last year, and I’m looking forward to rereading it one day. My friend Ayesha read it three times in one go; I am kind of jealous.

Ancillary Justice, Ann Leckie
I read this in 2014. I also read Ancillary Sword, I think (or was that this January?) which would be in this list but I decided that I will try not to include the same author/series twice if I can help it. (Otherwise it might be mostly Sarah Monette!)

Code Name Verity, Elizabeth Wein
I am so glad I read this book when I did, in 2013. Still one of my favourite historical YA ever.

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, Sherman Alexie
I also read this in 2013. It’s one of those older books that I thought was good but maybe a bit young for me, and then I read it and was completely blown away.

The Bone Key, Sarah Monette
Read this in 2012. Then read everything by her I could get my hands on, all of which would have been on this list if I didn’t restrain myself. The Bone Key is still my favourite of all those books, so that’s the one that’s in the list. (Oh, and Sarah Monette is Katherine Addison, so I cheated a bit.)

The Darkest Part of the Forest, Holly Black
Read this in 2014. I also read Holly Black’s Black Heart in 2012 which almost went into this list. I’m reading The Coldest Girl in Coldtown now, and wish I had read it immediately when it was published.

Aristotle & Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, Benjamin Alire Saenz
Currently my favourite YA contemporary, I think. I read this in 2012. This is one of the ones that surprised me in a good way, like The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian.

Akata Witch, Nnedi Okorafor
Another one that I read in 2012. Why is there no paperback version yet? I really like this book; at the time I was feeling stuck rereading old books, and I almost gave up on finding new middle grade fiction I’d love, but then Akata Witch came along and my faith in newly published fiction was restored.

Alif the Unseen, G. Willow Wilson
One of those books that made me start reading fantasy/SF for adults again. Which is kind of funny considering all the reviews saying that this book may be more suited to the YA market. But I loved this a lot, and it’s one of the first novels I read that depicts my religion in a way that doesn’t make me want to hurl it out the window. Read this in 2012.

My Real Children, Jo Walton
Read this in 2014. I think I couldn’t stop telling people about it the whole time I was reading it. So far I’ve enjoyed all the Jo Waltons I’ve read, but I think My Real Children is my favourite for now.

Leave a Reply

