Monthly Books

February’s Books

A bit – well, a lot – late this time. March and April are just very busy months for me, so I struggle to keep up with just my DWJ reread. (The reading isn’t a problem; the blogging part sometimes is.) This is also why I may not be around reading other blogs as much this month.

Anyway, here are the books I read in February:

* The Homeward Bounders, Diana Wynne Jones
* The Just City, Jo Walton
* A Hero at the End of the World, Erin Claiborne
* The Dream Thieves, Maggie Stiefvater
* Planet of Exile, Ursula K Le Guin
* The Novice, Taran Matharu
* Champion of the Scarlet Wolf Book 1, Ginn Hale
* Champion of the Scarlet Wolf Book 2, Ginn Hale
* Bad Feminist, Roxane Gay
* The Little Train, Graham Greene
* Witch Week, Diana Wynne Jones
* Blue Lily, Lily Blue, Maggie Stiefvater
* Malaysian Tales: Retold and Remixed, Daphne Lee (ed.)
* Freaky Friday, Mary Rodgers
* 99 Days, Katie Cotugno

In February I didn’t read any comics or manga, which I find kind of weird. I did read one picture book. I tried to read another but… couldn’t concentrate. So weird. Oh, wait. I did read issues #5 to #12 of Ms. Marvel, and several issues of Thor (the goddess, not god, of thunder) and Silk, but I didn’t count them in because they were single issues, not volumes.

I guess I just wasn’t in the right frame of mind. Instead, I reread The Homeward Bounders and Witch Week, which are both pretty awesome, as well as Freaky Friday, which was a strange experience because I realised that I remembered the movie more than I did the book. I also read The Just City, which may be one of my favourite reads of the year, and Maggie Stiefvater’s The Dream Thieves and Blue Lily, Lily Blue (WHY have I never read them before?). I also read my first non-fiction of the year – Bad Feminist, another one that may be a 2015 favourite, and which is probably going to influence my next zine a lot.

Leave a Reply

