thinking out loud

The Ultimate Book Tag

So I have been tagged by Summer of XingSings to do The Ultimate Book Tag. I’m supposed to be on my semi-hiatus, but I figure I can take the time to answer one or two (or twenty-five) questions.

Now on to the tag!

09
1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?
Unfortunately for my family, no. I’ve been reading in the car ever since I could remember; at one point my parents would have to get me a book especially for the drive back to their hometown in Malacca (which is 2-3 hours from KL depending on traffic) to keep me quiet in the car. I would usually finish the book during the drive. One of my brothers and my sister both get headachy not only by reading in the car, but also by being read to. Sometimes I would read stuff out loud to them on purpose.

2. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?
I don’t really find any one writer completely unique.

3. Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer.
Honestly? Neither. I’ve read both, and enjoyed them both, but neither were standouts to me. Anyone who knows me know that I’d pick DWJ over any other YA or MG book/series, but if I had to choose between the two, I guess I’d go with Harry Potter.

Because:
a. it’s a magic school story, which I generally prefer to vampire romances
b. there are bits that remind me strongly of DWJ (Crookshanks so reminds me of Throgmorten)
c. it’s funnier than Twilight

4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is in it (besides books)?
I use book bags as my regular bag most of the time. Usually I’ll have one or two books that I’m reading, my iPad, a pouch for stuff like tissues and lip balm and three small notebooks, my purse, my phone, a pencil case full of Copic pens and washi tapes, and a Little My mini tote that I use when I go out for lunch.

5. Do you smell your books?
Yes.

6. Books with or without little illustrations.
I don’t mind them without, but given a choice wouldn’t it always be nicer to have illustrations? (Although not if it means the book will be printed on glossy white paper, I hate that.)

7. What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing?
Usually I’d realise it wasn’t “quality writing” while reading, but would enjoy the books anyway only to find that the stuff I didn’t care about at first bugged me much later.

8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!
I don’t think I have any. Although I used to play “librarian” as a kid, the same way some kids used to play house. I find it kind of funny that it never made me think about being a librarian (probably because the libraries here aren’t very inspiring) but I was a school librarian for most of my primary and secondary school life.

9. What is the tinniest book on your shelf?
A collection of Aida Mitsuo’s poetry. Or probably one of Ursula Le Guin’s Catwings books.

10. What is the thickest book on your shelf?
Natsume Soseki’s I Am A Cat, probably. The copy I have is much thicker than the ones on sale now. Or one of the jazz history books. Or if I still have it, the Oxford Book of English Verse that I nicked from my mother as a kid. I should compare them one of these day.

11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?
The only writing I do now is for work, on my blogs, for my zine, and my fanfics. I’ve published exactly one short story before, and stories/poetry in the local paper as a kid, but I don’t feel particularly passionate about writing for publication or being a “real” writer. (I prefer fanfiction and zines!)

12. When did you get into reading?
I started reading at 2. I don’t think I ever really stopped. But it was only when I was 7 that I recognised reading as a Thing I Like To Do – before that, I mostly just read my brothers’ textbooks or my mother’s books. But on my 7th birthday a friend of a friend gave me a Malay translation of a Famous Five book, which made me seek out the others.

13. What is your favourite classic book?
Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre.

14. In school what was your best subject Language Arts/English?
What is this question really asking? Anyway, my best subject probably was English, and English Literature when I was old enough to choose it for an elective. I was pretty good at the other stuff too, though.

15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated, what would you do?
I’d thank the person and put the book on my shelf at my parents’ Malacca house, where someone else might read and enjoy them. These days most people don’t dare to give me books, though – I don’t know why, I’m not THAT picky a reader. Daphne and Kit are the only ones that give me surprise books these days, and they’ve never given me anything I hate.

16. There is no Q16, apparently…?

17. What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) while blogging?
Rambling would be my main bad habit, one that I no longer try to curb. Other than that, probably not trying hard enough when I’m a bit on the busy side?

18. What is your favorite word?
Serendipity.

19. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?
Probably a nerd at all times, a dork half of the time, and a dweeb on occasion.

20. Vampires or Fairies? Why?
So far I like fairy fiction more – they’ve been more original than the vampire fiction I’ve read on a whole, and I’ve always enjoyed my fairy lore. (Plus, the better vampire stories tend to be horror, and these days I don’t read that genre as much.)

21. Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?
Shapeshifters. Because I’ve read more interesting books with shapeshifters than ones with angels. Which I guess is the same answer as above.

22. Spirits or Werewolves? Why?
Spirits, because they’re also sort of fairies, and so are related to my interest in fairy/folklore.

23. Zombies or Vampires? Why?
Vampires, because I don’t like zombies.

24. Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?
Neither. But if I had to choose, I guess forbidden love.

25. And finally: Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?
Definitely the latter, if for speculative fiction. Otherwise I’d prefer the former, because I’m not that into action-packed stories that aren’t fantasy/SF in nature.

I’m not tagging other book bloggers, but two of my colleagues:
Kit @ Gingernut & Tea
Husnah @ UmmiBear: Raising Readers

2 thoughts on “The Ultimate Book Tag

Leave a Reply

