Monthly Wrap-Up

May’s Books

BOOKS READ IN MAY

* Jの総て (1), Nakamura Asumiko
* Jの総て (2), Nakamura Asumiko
* Jの総て (3), Nakamura Asumiko
* Anything Could Happen, Will Walton
* What Did You Eat Yesterday? (7), Yoshinaga Fumi
* What Did You Eat Yesterday? (8), Yoshinaga Fumi
* The Hotel Under the Sand, Kage Baker
* Spinster: Making a Life of One’s Own, Kate Bolick
* The House on Mango Street, Sandra Cisneros
* Moomin: The Complete Tove Jansson Comic Strip Vol. 1, Tove Jansson
* Aviary Wonders Inc. Spring Catalog and Instruction Manual, Kate Samworth
* Winnie: The True Story of the Bear Who Inspired Winnie-the-Pooh, Sally M. Walker
* This Is Sadie, Sara O’Leary & Julie Morstad
* Wayward Vol.1, Jim Zub
* So Much To Tell, Valerie Grove
* The Skiver’s Guide, Diana Wynne Jones
* Half Magic, Edward Eager
* The Kingdom Under the Sea and Other Stories, Joan Aiken

I read less books than usual last month – our store’s annual stock take was in May, and we were busy because of it. And the week before that I spent a few days in Singapore. Watched a play based on Oliver Jeffer’s The Incredible Book-Eating Boy with my niece, and met up with the buyers from Singapore’s Kinokuniya Bookstores. I read a lot of my niece’s picture books, but I couldn’t remember which ones now so they’re not included in this list or on GR. Instead, the three picture books in this list are the ones being considered for our upcoming newsletter.

I also read a lot of comics (more than listed, since I read a lot of single issue comics) and some middle grade/younger fiction in May. I was pleasantly surprised by J no Subete, which I thought was going to be a straightforward BL story and turned out to be an interesting commentary about being mogai and transgender in particular in (historical) Japan. And the next two translated volumes of What Did You Eat Yesterday?, which includes nice developments in the story and various relationships.

My favourite read of the month was probably Edward Eager’s Half Magic, which made me wonder why I had never read Eager before.

Leave a Reply

