All Things Puffin

A.A. Milne’s The House at Pooh Corner

houseatpoohcornerThe House at Pooh Corner by A.A. Milne

ISBN: 0140361227
This edition: 1992 reprint
First published in the US by Dutton, in 1928
Illustrated by Ernest H. Shepard

My copy: purchased used. I don’t remember where I got this copy from, but it was most probably from one of the used bookstores in Bras Basah, Singapore.

My introduction to Pooh and Christopher Robin and all their friends from the Hundred Acre Wood was not in reading this book, or even Winnie-the-Pooh. It was in the Disney animated feature The Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh from 1977. I had it in VHS and I remember it being one of my most-watched videos back then, together with Disney’s Dumbo and Robin Hood. (Somehow I managed to miss the whole “princess” phase, even if I did occasionally watch Disney’s Sleeping Beauty, until I was much older and fell for the bookish Belle in Beauty and the Beast.)

I get tempted by various editions of the Pooh (and other Milne) books all the time now, but both my main reading copies, as well as my copy of Now We Are Six (somehow I do not own a copy of When We Were Very Young) are used copies from various book hunts. Even during the years when I went through various children’s classics stocked at the National Library, I didn’t come into contact with Pooh, and it stayed that way until I was at least fifteen, on one of my trips to Payless Books, my favourite used bookstore back then. I found a very old Dutton copy of Winnie-the-Pooh, which I picked up and paid for, despite the price being a little too steep for me at the time. I blew an entire week’s worth of pocket money, but I was happy. I was reunited with Pooh and Christopher Robin and Tigger and Piglet and Eeyore (my favourite then, and now.)

At the back of this edition is an excerpt from the book that makes me both sad and happy always:

pooh1
illustrated by Ernest H. Shepard

“Pooh, promise you won’t forget about me, ever. Not even when I’m a hundred.”

Pooh thought for a little.

“How old shall I be then?”

“Ninety-nine.”

Pooh nodded. “I promise,” he said.

6 thoughts on “A.A. Milne’s The House at Pooh Corner

      1. I do like it when ‘companions’ get a new lease of life: many of our kids’ dolls, teddies and stuff are played with and cherished by grandkids, whether at their homes or when they come to visit us. Likewise games, toys, jigsaws and — of course — books!

        Like

Leave a Reply

