thinking out loud

Top Ten Bookworm Delights

もずねこtttb

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  This week’s theme is Top Ten Bookworm Delights, which really made me think for a long time, trying to figure out what a “bookworm delight” was, but then I looked at others’ posts, and it was like, of course. So… here are some of mine:

Meeting people I can talk books with.
You’d think that this happens a lot, since I work in a bookstore with colleagues who are all bibliophiles. But really, all of us read such different stuff and only occasionally have books in common. For example, Kit and I both read comics, but I could only talk about the Image stuff with her, as she doesn’t read any Marvel/DC. (We both like the same indie comics, so yay!) And we both love fantasy, but she prefers high fantasy while I prefer low fantasy – of course, Diana Wynne Jones is a common ground, but I’m all read-everything-by-DWJ while she’s more of a reread-Enchanted-Glass-again sort. And… it’s the same with my other colleagues. So we all understand and enable each other’s love for books, and listen to each other gush about our favourites all the time, but it’s not really the same as talking to someone that read and loved the same books – for example, I don’t know ANYONE that have read and loved the Raven Cycle, or about the Lunar Chronicles.

So I guess that’s what I mean – meeting someone who does read these stuff, and talking with them. This ushally happens when I’m outside at the store, or during publishers’ events, or when I meet reps from suppliers or publishers. Either way, it’s really nice when it happens!

Giving someone their first [insert author here].
Mainly this is about Diana Wynne Jones, to me. But there’s still something special about introducing someone to Ann Leckie, or Ursula Le Guin, or Jo Walton, or Nnedi Okorafor, etc. Especially when they come back and gush about how much they loved the books. Which brings me to:

Someone loving a book I recommended.
This is a given. I don’t always recommend books I love – taste is subjective, after all, and I try to rec based on the other person’s taste. It’s not always easy, and it’s wonderful when I get it right.

Pretty endpapers.
Especially if the pretty endpapers are maps. Like the one in C.J. Redwine’s The Shadow Queen – SO GORGEOUS. The new Egmont edition of the Winnie-the-Pooh books also have lovely endpapers; I ought to post them here or on instagram one day!

Old books.
This may be a bit odd, since I make a living selling new books, but I love buying secondhand books. I get them online mostly, from other countries, because I’m always searching for editions that are out-of-print and that were mostly never sold here. Many of them were originally library books, but some of them belonged to people, and I love reading notes they’ve written inside, and sometimes wonder about the lives of the people who owned the books before me.

Deckled/uncut edges.
Some people really hate them, I know, but I love them so much. I don’t even know why. The first uncut book I ever had was a volume of poetry my brother got me when I was fourteen, and I remember cutting the pages, one by one, unfolding one poem after another… it was a special sort of experience.

Bookish memes.
I love making up lists, so obviously Top Ten Tuesday is my favourite! I used to participate in so many memes, though. I’d love to hear any recommendations of new bookish memes I should check out!

Finding new parcels waiting for me at work.
I love all book mail, of course, but here I am mainly talking about a particular publisher, one that sends me the occasional box of new or upcoming titles from their various YA imprints. I love almost everything they send me, and some times I’d walk into the office in the morning and find a pile of books on my desk (boxes already unboxed by colleagues)… yeah, suddenly Mondays aren’t so bad after all. (Honestly though, I don’t really get the hating Mondays thing.)

Bookish merchandise.

These things are harder to come by where I live. I don’t really make enough to be ordering merch from other countries (damn those shipping fees), but I love looking at them on instagram/pinterest/etc.

Being surrounded by books.
Doesn’t this make most of us bibliophiles happy? One of the things I love about having private time on weekends (something that’s getting to be rare for me these days) is just that – being among my books, whether I’m reading or reorganising or editing something or working. When I’m stressed out in the office, too, all I need to do to relax is walk out into the bookstore, and hang out at the YA section for a bit.

Bonus: Not sure if this is a bookworm thing or a bookseller thing, but I absolutely love it when titles I can’t wait to share finally arrive at the store. I’d spend all morning finding them the perfect space to wait to be discovered by readers.

What are your favourite bookish things?

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Bookworm Delights

  1. Ditto meeting people I can talk books with (in real life is so rare but just wonderful when it happens.) Ditto tracking down old books. (I’ve found Octavia Butler, Marge Piercy, Joanna Russ and Sherri S Tepper this way. I just need to find time to read them). I used to love doing bookish memes but haven’t had the time to catch up on them.

    Like

  2. Great list – I share so many of these! I completely agree with meeting someone who i can talk about books with as it doesn’t happen often but is so good when it does! I have also recently discovered my love for book merchandise and yes for old books and bookish memes – there so much fun 🙂
    Heres my TTT

    Like

Leave a Reply

