Monthly Books

April’s Books

BOOKS READ IN APRIL

YA (and older)
* Behind the Scenes, Dahlia Adler
* Under the Lights, Dahlia Adler
* The Shadow Queen, C.J. Redwine
* The Lifeboat Clique, Kathy Parks
* The Girl From Everywhere, Heidi Heilig
* Stars Above, Marissa Meyer
* The Raven Boys, Maggie Stiefvater
* The Unexpected Everything, Morgan Matson
* Jackdaw, K.J. Charles

MG (and younger)
* Wild Robert, Diana Wynne Jones
* Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, J.K. Rowling
* Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, J.K. Rowling

Manga/Comics
* Goodnight Punpun Omnibus Vol.1, Asano Inio
* The Gods Lie, Ozaki Kaori
* Archie Vol.1: The New Riverdale, Mark Waid & Fiona Staples
* We Are Robin Vol.1: The Vigilante Business, Lee Bermejo & Jorge Corona
* Gotham Academy Vol.1: Welcome to Gotham Academy, Becky Cloonan & Brenden Fletcher
* The Wicked + The Divine Vol.1: The Faust Act, Kieron Gillen & Jamie McKelvie
* Paper Girls Vol.1, Brian K. Vaughan & Cliff Chiang
* Invincible Iron Man Vol.1: Reboot, Brian Michael Bendis & Ryan Stegman
* Uncanny Avengers Vol.1: Unity, Gerry Duggan & David Marquez
* I Hate Fairyland Vol.1: Madly Ever After, Skottie Young & Jean-Francois Beaulieu
* Amazing Spider-Man Vol.1: Worldwide, Dan Slott & Giuseppe Camuncoli
* All-New, All-Different Avengers Vol.1: The Magnificent Seven, Mark Waid & Adam Kubert
* Guardians of the Galaxy: New Order, Vol.1: Emperor Quill, Brian Michael Bendis & Valerio Schiti

Picture Books & Humor
* The Ladybird Book of Mindfulness, Jason Hazeley
* The Ladybird Book of the Hipster, Joel Morris
* Snow White in New York, Fiona French
* Beautiful Blackbird, Ashley Bryan

I guess I have to face the fact that I’m reading more comics than books these days. Enough that I should probably start doing mini reviews for them, too. I’m currently on the new Doctor Strange volume and am liking it so much more than I thought I would, kind of like Invincible Iron Man and Uncanny Avengers (a title mostly saved by Deadpool, for me). On the other hand, I didn’t quite enjoy Amazing Spider-Man and Guardians of the Galaxy as much as I expected to – Peter Parker isn’t as compelling to me these days (I’m more of a Miles fan now) and even though I LOVE Kitty Pryde (and Rocket, and Groot) I didn’t quite warm to the new Guardians team. Maybe I will later. As far as DC goes, I’m surprising myself by really loving all these Batman-related titles like We Are Robin and Gotham Academy and Batgirl of Burnside, when I can’t stand Batman himself. I hope the rebirth thing wouldn’t change that.

(I think I don’t have to talk about how awesome Wic+Div and Paper Girls are, because everyone knows they’re awesome… right?)

2 thoughts on “April’s Books

Leave a Reply

