thinking out loud

Top Ten Most Anticipated Reads in 2016, part 2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is our most anticipated reads for the second half of 2016. I don’t think I can do this list justice even if I narrow it down to categories like “fantasy reads” or “YA reads”; there would ALWAYS be a great book I really want to be read that would get left out, no matter what. I have an excel file at work just for books that I’m looking forward to. So instead of checking the lists I’ve written down on notebooks and files I’ve created at work, I’m just going to go with the first ten titles that pop up in my head now, plus one:

brightsmokecoldfireempireofstormsgertieghostsgirlwhodrankthemoon

harrypottermirrormonstress1spiderman1StrangetheDreamer

Bright Smoke, Cold Fire by Rosamund Hodge
I love Rosamund Hodge’s writing – I find her books (Cruel Beauty, Crimson Bound) very atmospheric, in an almost eerie, dreamlike way. Cruel Beauty was a retelling of Beauty and the Beast with a dash of Tam Lin and Bluebeard, and Crimson Bound was a retelling of Red Riding Hood, sort of. Bright Smoke, Cold Fire is going to be a Romeo & Juliet retelling, and I can’t wait to see what twists Rosamund Hodge will throw into the tale.

Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas
I just really, really, REALLY want to know how this all ends. Just two more books to go… *bites nails in anticipation*

Gertie’s Leap to Greatness by Kate Beasley
When I was younger I didn’t used to think about decorations/illustrations all that much. They’re just there, and it’s nice if they’re pretty, but that’s about it. But lately I’ve become more appreciative of the art in children’s books. And when I found out that Jillian Tamaki, who worked on some of my favourite comics, is doing the illustrations for this book, I knew it would be a must-have! Then I read some excerpts from the book and fell for the writing, too, so I really have high hopes for this title.

Ghosts by Raina Telgemeier
I adore Raina Telgemeier. Her comics are just so funny and on point and a pleasure to read. So, yeah, of course I’m looking forward to this 😀

The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill
I’ve never read Kelly Barnhill, but I’ve wanted to read Witch’s Boy for some time now. And when I saw the cover for The Girl Who Drank the Moon (cover art by Yuta Onada), I immediately included it in all my lists!

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by Jack Thorn, John Tiffany and J.K. Rowling
Is there a Harry Potter fan who ISN’T looking forward to this? This year it’ll be a bittersweet experience for me, because I always used to queue for the Harry Potter books with my late sister, and we’d read them side-by-side, spoiling each other if either of us read ahead of the other. This year, I’m tempted to work on the release date, instead of starting on the book immediately, so that I could be among other fans. I don’t know. We’ll see.

Mirror: The Mountain by Emma Rios & Hwei Lim
A comic! I’ve only read 4 or 5 pages of the first issue that I was given as a preview once, and the story didn’t make much sense (yet?), but Hwei Lim is a Malaysian artist and she’s always been my favourite at the comic fest doujin booths here, so I know the art will be GORGEOUS. Plus, of course I’m supporting our local artists!

Monstress by Marjorie M. Liu & Sana Takeda
Another comic! I love Marjorie M. Liu so I know I’ll love Monstress, but to be completely honest I would want to read it based on the art alone. But of course, the fact that it’s by one of my favourite comic writers and it’s about monster girls made it so that the art is just icing on the cake.

Spider-Man: Miles Morales Vol. 1, by Brian Michael Bendis & Sara Pichelli
There are LOTS of Marvel comics that I’m looking forward to this year, because I want to catch up with all my faves post-Secret Wars. Many of my faves are releasing at the end of this month or sometime next month, and of the ones releasing further down, this is the one I think of the most. Because I liked Peter Parker and enjoy the Spider-Man movies, but I never really read his comics or felt moved to do so. Miles Morales, though, is a different story. I really liked him in the Ultimate universe, and now I enjoy reading his appearances in ANAD Avengers and Ms. Marvel. His first main-universe solo title can’t come soon enough!

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor
Laini Taylor is one of those authors whose works go into my “must-read” list as soon as I hear about them. It may take me sometime to get to them, but it’ll never leave that “must-read” list. I love her writing so much.

So that’s ten new releases I’m anticipating. My plus-one here is an older title that’s been out-of-print for awhile, and is FINALLY going back into print this November:

Cart & Cwidder by Diana Wynne Jones
YES! The Dalemark Quartet will be reprinted! And this time by Harper! (The last available copies were from Oxford) DWJ’s books tend to have hideous covers in general, though (barring a few favourites), so I’m really hoping that this edition will get the lovely cover it deserves.

What books are you looking forward to?

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Most Anticipated Reads in 2016, part 2

  1. Bright Smoke, Cold Fire is also on my list. I really love how Rosamund Hodge bends old stories.

    I’m also very much looking forward to Ghosts. Raina’s graphic novels are always wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

