thinking out loud

Top Ten Favourite 2016 Releases So Far This Year

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Today’s theme is Top Ten Favourite 2016 Releases So Far This Year, and after going over the books I’ve read this year so far, I have to say that the strongest new releases I’ve read are the comics:

Night ParadePaper Menagerieshadowqueenravenkingdrstrange

silk01allnewwolverine01msmarvel05godsliepunpun1

The Night Parade, Kathryn Tanquary
Is it just me or are we getting more and more good middle grade books these days? Really loved this one.

The Paper Menagerie and Other Stories, Ken Liu
A really good collection of short stories – most of them left a strong impression, and some of them I still discuss with my friends about every now and then.

The Shadow Queen, C.J. Redwine
While I didn’t have high expectations in the first place, this is one of the few YA that truly exceeded my expectations. I always enjoy a good retelling!

The Raven King, Maggie Stiefvater
Hands down my favourite YA read of the year so far 🙂

Doctor Strange Vol. 1: The Way of the Weird, Jason Aaron & Chris Bachalo
The All-New All-Different Marvel volumes keep surprising me in a good way – I don’t think I’ve ever liked Stephen Strange this much until now.

Silk Vol. 1: Sinister, Robbie Thompson & Stacey Lee (and Veronica Fish. And Helen Chen!)
I was torn over whether to put Silk or Thor in this list, because both are equally awesome, but since I’ve chosen one Jason Aaron title already, Silk it is! In this volume, Silk is now one of the bad guys… although she’s kind of bad at being bad?

All-New Wolverine Vol. 1: The Four Sisters, Tom Taylor & David Lopez
Wolverine is another character I never would’ve thought I’d love, but give the title to X-23, and all my warm fuzzies go to her. I really like this storyline, and she’s more interesting here than in the new X-Men title I tried.

Ms. Marvel Vol. 5: Super Famous, G. Willow Wilson & Takeshi Miyazawa
Technically this volume isn’t out yet, but I’ve read all the floppies that go into it, so I’m counting it? Ms. Marvel is back, now as an All-New All-Different Avenger!

The Gods Lie, Kaori Ozaki
To be honest I would’ve have read this if Kit hadn’t prompted me to, because I knew it was going to be a sad one. She wanted me to use this as our comics gem (monthly highlight), so of course I had to read it first, to write my capsule review. Yes, it was sad, but it was also very good.

Oyasumi Punpun Vol. 1, Asano Inio
Punpun is another sad one, but it’s also hilarious sometimes.

I’m sure I’m forgetting something, even though I’ve gone through my “read” list a few times! What titles are in your list?

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Favourite 2016 Releases So Far This Year

  1. YESSS TO THE RAVEN KING!! *sobs with love for it* It’s just so incredible and I think it smashed my feels completely but also was such a good satisfying ending. ❤ I only read it a few months ago but I already want to re-read. AHHHH. All the feels!! 😀 Here’s my TTT!

    Like

Leave a Reply

