thinking out loud

Ten Books I’d Buy Right This Second If Someone Handed Me A Fully Loaded Gift Card

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. With this week’s theme, I’m going to assume that “fully loaded” means “all the money I’ll ever need” because the main reason these books are in my list is: they’re really expensive, especially at our current conversion rate!

100greatchildrenspicturebooks wewerefeministsonce geekfeministrevolution lumberjanestothemax ratqueens1

howtheworldbecamequiet lagoon strangerinolondria foxwoman redemptioninindigo

NON-FICTION 

100 Great Children’s Picture Books by Martin Salisbury
We Were Feminists Once by Andi Zeisler
The Geek Feminist Revolution by Kameron Hurley

I’ve been looking forward to these three titles for a long time before they were released, and then they got released… and I couldn’t afford them. One day!

COMICS

Lumberjanes To the Max Edition Vol. 1 by Shannon Watters, et al
Rat Queens Deluxe Ed Vol. 1 by Kurtis J. Wiebe, et al

I bought Lumberjanes digitally during a Comixology sale, and I’ve flipped through Rat Queens for review purposes, but I would really, really love to have physical copies at home… especially these deluxe editions.

FICTION

How the World Became Quiet, Rachel Swirsky
Lagoon by Nnedi Okorafor
A Stranger in Olondria by Sofia Samatar
The Fox Woman by Kij Johnson
Redemption in Indigo by Karen Lord

I… just really want to read and own these? I discovered Rachel Swirsky’s short stories when reading an anthology for work – I was so obsessed with her story in the anthology that I kept searching for her collected works. (Ken Liu was another author that I started to look for, because of the same anthology.) And the other books are by authors I enjoy and whose works I love, and yet somehow don’t own.

Looking forward to see everyone else’s lists!

2 thoughts on “Ten Books I’d Buy Right This Second If Someone Handed Me A Fully Loaded Gift Card

Leave a Reply

