thinking out loud

Ten Books in My Fall TBR List

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme, which I’m doing on Thursday instead, is top ten books in our Fall TBR. Personally, I’m just going to go with ten books I’ve been dying to read all year and yet haven’t got to, so they’re rattling my TBR stacks in impatience right now.

torchagainstthenight georgiapeaches thousandthfloor crookedkingdom empireofstorms

threedarkcrowns labyrinthlost ironcast necessity everfair

A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir
An Ember in the Ashes was probably one of my favourite fantasy YAs from last year, and I couldn’t wait to find out what happens next. Unfortunately, work stuff always makes me put off sequels in favour of trying out new series, and I’ve yet to pick my copy up.

Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit by Jaye Robin Brown
I haven’t been reading many contemporaries this year, and this is one of the ones I kept meaning to read. I guess when it comes to quiltbag YA I still have a thing for the conservative small-town settings, because they’re closer to the reality of being a queer teen where I live.

The Thousandth Floor by Katherine McGee
I have to be honest and admit that the main reason why I want to read this is because the cover is really cool, and then there’s the fact that I love the idea of an entire city contained in one building – it reminds me of a manga I read a long time ago (although that was more post-apocalyptic), and Macross City Saga (although that, of course, had the city in a giant spaceship.)

Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo
I am so in love with this world and the characters in Six of Crows. I’m a fan of heist stories, and trickster characters, and the first book gave me both, with lots of fantasy elements added. (No, I never did read the Grisha trilogy, so it was all new to me.) And I basically can’t wait to do it all over again – in fact, I am starting on this book today.

Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas
As of this morning, this title left my TBR shelf towards my “read” shelves, but I’m still adding it in because if I had posted this on Tuesday, it would still be in the list. Now, I just need the next installment…

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake
Sororicide is one thing that I can’t comprehend, ever, but this book has such a GORGEOUS cover, and I do enjoy stories about magic and crown-grabbing. So, yes. This is on my list.

Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Córdova
The cover is beautiful. And it’s supposedly like “Beautiful Creatures meets Daughter of Smoke and Bone”, and I loved both of those books. Of course they’re magical and dark, but the main similarity between those two books, to me? Beautiful, atmospheric writing. So I’m hoping that this will not disappoint in that regard.

Iron Cast by Destiny Soria
Just LOOK at that cover. Of course I want it. Also, abilities to create illusions through art? Gangs and con men? Prohibition-era historical fantasy? With a biracial character, and a story that is low on the romance bits and addresses racism in some way (according to reviews I’ve read)? YES, count me in.

Necessity by Jo Walton
This book was published in July, but thanks to many different things (mostly circling back to “I live in Malaysia”) it took me three whole months to get a copy. And now I’m a bit apprehensive to start on it, even though I couldn’t wait to have it last year. Because this is the last bit of The Just City, and I want to savour it. And because reading Jo Walton’s SF always leaves me with a big idea-shaped hole that no other book could fill. Not to mention a list of other books I suddenly HAD to get to (probably more Plato, this time.) All of which are lovely, but it would kind of derail my other reading, so I’m putting it aside until I have the time to deal with that kind of book hangover.

Everfair by Nisi Shawl
Alternate history. Historical fantasy. Steampunk. I’m sold just on those words, of course, but the fact that the history being reworked here is that of Congo being invaded by Belgium makes me want to read it even more.

Bonus: other books currently high up on my TBR list – Heartless by Marissa Meyer, Bright Rose, Cold Fire by Rosamund Hodge, Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter and Stealing Snow by Danielle Paige.

One thought on “Ten Books in My Fall TBR List

Leave a Reply

