thinking out loud

Ten Pokemons I’ve Named After Characters

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Today we’re supposed to be talking about ten characters I’d name a child/pet/car/etc. So far I’ve had lots of cats and I’ve never named any of them after characters (although I do have a plant called Groot) so I’ll go with… ten pokemons I’ve named after a character!

magicians carbonel oldpossumsbookofpracticalcats amazingmauriceandhiseducatedrodents calvinandhobbes

sabriel tailchaserssong harrypotterphilosopherstone subtleknife drownedammet

I know that Eevee and the eevolutions aren’t cats, but somehow cat-names seem to fit them. So… they got cat names.

The Vaporeons:
Benvenuto is named after the cat in The Magicians of Caprona by Diana Wynne Jones. Carbonel is named after the cat in Carbonel: The King of Cats, Carbonel & Calidor and The Kingdom of Carbonel by Barbara Sleigh. Macavity, of course, is from T.S. Eliot’s Old Possum’s Book of Practival Cats.

The Jolteons:
Maurice is named after the Amazing Maurice from Terry Pratchett’s The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents. Hobbes isn’t named after a cat, but a stuffed tiger (Calvin and Hobbes, Bill Watterson). The Mogget, too, isn’t truly a cat, but appears in cat form in Garth Nix’s books.

The Flareons:
I’ve got Tailchaser, from Tad Williams’ Tailchaser’s Song; Crookshanks from the Harry Potter books by JK Rowling; and Moxie, Will’s daemon from Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials.

At this point I ran out of eevolutions, but I also name my other favourites after characters, and one of them is a Gyarados named Ammet, who is not a cat, from Diana Wynne Jones’ Drowned Ammet. (I also plan to have an Umbreon named Throgmorton when the next gen comes out, so there’s another cat name.)

3 thoughts on “Ten Pokemons I’ve Named After Characters

  1. I’ve never named my pokemons before, but if I did, I would totally name that after characters. Mogget as a Jolteon sounds appropriate 🙂 There’s still five more eevolutions, haha. Also, having a plant named Groot is pretty awesome 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

