Monthly Books

October’s Books

BOOKS READ IN OCTOBER 2016

Children’s
* Noggin and the Moon Mouse, Oliver Postgate & Peter Firmin
* Nogbad Comes Back, Oliver Postgate & Peter Firmin
* King Baby, Kate Beaton
* The Uncorker of Ocean Bottles, Michelle Cuevas
* We Found A Hat, Jon Klassen

Young Adult
* Crooked Kingdom, Leigh Bardugo
* No Love Allowed, Kate Evangelista
* No Holding Back, Kate Evangelista
* Been Here All Along, Sandy Hall
* A Thousand Pieces of You, Claudia Gray

Comics
* The Beauty Vol.1, Jeremy Haun
* The Wicked + The Divine Vol.3: Commercial Suicide, Kieron Gillen
* Spider-Man/Deadpool Vol.1: Isn’t It Bromantic, Joe Kelly
* All-New All-Different Avengers Vol.2: Family Business, Mark Waid
* やがて君になる, 仲谷鳰

Finally, my monthly reading list is starting to look semi-normal again. I’m still playing PokeGo more than I read on the way to/back from work these days, if only because it’s easier during rush hour train madness. My favourite read in October is probably Jon Klassen’s We Found A Hat, which is also my current fave among his hat books. As for the novels, I can’t choose a favourite – they’re all fun to read in one way or another. The Claudia Gray stands out to me right now because I’ve been wanting to read it since it came out but only had the chance recently, because we’re doing a bookclub for the Firebird series at our store.

The Caine family made me think of the Murrys from Madeleine L’Engle’s Time books, and there were moments in A Thousand Pieces of You where Marguerite reminds me of Meg Murry. The jumps between dimensions also reminded me a little of The Homeward Bounders. But they’re really very different stories, of course.

One thought on “October’s Books

  1. Your mention of the Noggin the Nog books reminded me of the joyful primitive stop-motion animation of the original TV series. Hmm, now I’ll have to see if YouTube can satisfy that nostalgia …

    Like

Leave a Reply

