Monthly Wrap-Up

December’s Books

BOOKS READ IN DECEMBER 2016

Fiction
* The Evil Wizard Smallbone by Delia Sherman
* A Sudden Wild Magic by Diana Wynne Jones
* Urban by Azrin Fauzi (short stories)

Comics
* What Did You Eat Yesterday? (11) by Yoshinaga Fumi
* Haikyuu! (15) by Furudate Haruichi
* Ms. Marvel Vol.6 by G. Willow Wilson
* The Beauty Vol.2 by Jeremy Haun
* The Vision Vol.2: Little Better Than A Beast by Tom King
* Paper Girls Vol.2 by Brian K. Vaughan
* Mockingbird Vol.1: I Can Explain by Chelsea Cain
* Mooncop by Tom Gauld
* Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic by Alison Bechdel

Picture Books
* Triangle by Mac Barnett & Jon Klassen
* Penguin Problems by John Jory

Well, I did manage to complete my Goodreads Challenge this year, although it was mostly thanks to the comics (probably). I read a LOT of comics this year – and a lot of really good fiction, too! I finished Diana Wynne Jones’ A Sudden Wild Magic, which I think is the last previously unread DWJ (not counting Changeover) novel in my list. That made me feel a bit sad, because even though DWJ’s writing made it so that every read feels different, there are no more new worlds from her for me to explore. And then, of course, after reading her it took me a long time to even be able to pick up another work of fiction because who could ever compare?

(Okay, Megan Whalen Β Turner, maybe, but I’m saving my Queen’s Thief reread for next year.)

Anyway. I also read The Evil Wizard Smallbone which Kit said was DWJ-esque and I loved it and saw her point, although I don’t completely agree. It is a very lovely book, however.

I’m going to Malacca over this weekend, where there’s hardly any wifi or phone reception, so I probably won’t be posting my usual end-of-year wrap-up until next week (yes, in January.)

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

