thinking out loud

2017 YA Titles I’m Looking Forward To

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Today’s theme is supposed to be Top Ten 2017 Debuts, but I decided to go with the ten YA titles I’m looking forward to the most instead.

famous educationofmargotsanchez galleryofunfinishedgirls  howtobreakaboy inexplicablelogicofmylife
itsnotlikeitsasecret juniperlemonshappinessindex queensofgeek thickasthieves thisbeatsperfect

#famous by Jilly Gagnon (Katherine Tegen)
I have a thing for romantic comedies, which is why YA contemporary romance makes for my favourite kind of comfort read. This sounds like something I’d enjoy.

The Education of Margot Sanchez by Lilliam Rivera (Simon & Schuster)
Yes to the title and cover, yes to the synopsis, yes to the Pretty in Pink mention in the blurb.

The Gallery of Unfinished Girls by Lauren Karcz (HarperTeen)
The cover is gorgeous. And the synopsis… sounds like my kind of book. *Makes grabby hands*

How to Break a Boy by Laurie Devore (Imprint)
That cover just appeals to me so. And this seems like the sort of book my sister would’ve liked.

The Inexplicable Logic of My Life by Benjamin Alire Sáenz (Clarion)
New Benjamin Alire Sáenz! How long has it been since Aristotle and Dante, anyway? Four years? FIVE? I am so ready for this new book, even if it’s not the sequel.

It’s Not Like It’s A Secret by Misa Sugiura (HarperTeen)
I’ve been looking forward to this since… I don’t even remember. A year? Half a year? Anyway, when it comes to quiltbag romance I’ve been reading a lot of m/m stories last year, my response to the announcement for this book was IT’S ABOUT TIME.

Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index by Julie Israel (Kathy Dawson Books)
Normally, this would have been a cover buy for me. And a title buy. But it’s also pitched as “Love Letters to the Dead meets The Sky is Everywhere“, and those are among my favourite YA contemporaries. And it’s about a girl coping with grief over the death of her sister, so yeah, this is definitely a book for me.

Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde (Swoon Reads)
So far I’ve enjoyed what I’ve tried from Swoon Reads, and I’m looking forward to this one because (1) it’s about geeks, (2) it has f/f romance, and (3) it’s set at a convention.

Thick As Thieves by Megan Whalen Turner (Greenwillow)
THIS IS MY MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF THE YEAR. Every year since A Conspiracy of Kings, really.

This Beats Perfect by Rebecca Denton (Atom)
Besides YA contemporary romance, I love contemporary fiction that revolves around music – especially if the protagonist is a music geek. (Cecil Castellucci’s Beige is one of my very favourites thanks to this, and the mixtapes are one of the reasons why I loved The Perks of Being a Wallflower)

More books I’m looking forward to:

Definitions of Indefinable Things by Whitney Taylor
The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzie Lee
History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera
Our Own Private Universe by Robin Talley
Romancing the Throne by Nadine Jolie Courtney
Dress Codes for Small Towns by Courtney C. Stevens
Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco
Honestly Ben by Bill Konigsberg
Words in Deep Blue by Cath Crowley

Since I’ve yet to read all of the 2016 books I was looking forward to, and this is just the YA (and mostly contemporary YA at that) list, I wonder how many of these I’ll actually manage to read by the end of the year… and I’m looking forward to seeing other lists for ideas on what to add to mine.

8 thoughts on “2017 YA Titles I’m Looking Forward To

  1. I’ve just discovered I must have a condition I call Title Envy — incurable perhaps — just from reading so many perfectly named books. I wish I had the imagination to come up with oh-so-intriguing titles like these and maybe I’d be fired up enough to get on with the YA novel I keep on having concepts or characters for but never develop.

    As both Daphne and you are anticipating the next Megan Whalen book I suppose I ought to check out her previous oeuvre … 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hiya Marisa, I’ve just discovered your blog so hello!

    I always love these TTT’s because I come across new suggestions on what books to read, and I have to say I haven’t seen these before so thank you for sharing!

    Here is my TTT if you would like to check it out! 🙂

    Emma @ Emma’s Bookery

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

