thinking out loud

Marineko Book Awards 2016

I read 216 over the last year, give or take 5-10 that I may have forgotten to mark on GoodReads (usually I forget to add picture books or manga, because they’re quick reads). My top three read categories were Comics (37%), YA (24%) and Picture Books (17%). In terms of genre, I read more SFF than any other kind of fiction.

Conclusion for 2016: I read way more comics than usual, most of them from the Big 2. This brought down a lot of my other reading goals, which is unfortunate, because I will have to continue reading a lot from Marvel/DC, now that I’m the comics buyer. Got to keep up with all these events! (Okay, and also because I enjoy them.) I also had a couple of “missing months” in which I spent so much time on Pokemon Go, or zines, or events at work, that I hardly read anything other than the occasional comic.

Anyway, on to my 2016 favourites. As usual, this list is based on what I read in 2016, so the books aren’t necessarily published within the year.

FANTASY
A Sudden Wild Magic, Diana Wynne Jones
The Raven King, Maggie Stiefvater

SF
Too Like the Lightning, Ada Palmer

HORROR
Bird Box, Josh Malerman

ROMANCE
Crosstalk, Connie Willis

MYSTERY/THRILLER
♥ none

PICTURE BOOK
We Found A Hat, Jon Klassen

CONTEMPORARY/REALISTIC
All of the Above, Juno Dawson

HISTORICAL
My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton and Jodi Meadows

NON-FICTION
Hamilton: The Revolution, Lin-Manuel Miranda
Minders of Make-Believe: Idealists, Entrepreneurs, and the Shaping of American Children’s Literature by Leonard S. Marcus

HUMOUR
♥ none

MANGA SERIAL (SHOJO/JOSEI)
What Did You Eat Yesterday? (11) by Yoshinaga Fumi

MANGA SERIAL (SHONEN/SEINEN)
Goodnight Punpun Omnibus Vol.1, Inio Asano

STANDALONE MANGA
The Gods Lie, Ozaki Kaori

COMIC (Series)
The Vision, Tom King

STANDALONE COMIC
Hilda and the Midnight Giant, Luke Pearson

POETRY
Tidak Ada New York Hari Ini, M. Aan Mansyur & Mo Riza

BEST RE-READ
Aristotle & Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, Benjamin Alire Saenz

OTHER FAVOURITE READS IN 2016
Empire of Storms, Sarah J. Maas
The Evil Wizard Smallbone, Delia Sherman
Hunger Makes Me A Modern Girl, Carrie Brownstein
Mockingbird Vol.1: I Can Explain by Chelsea Cain
Necessity, Jo Walton
The Night Parade, Kathryn Tanquary
Popkiss: The Life and Afterlife of Sarah Records, Michael White
Princess Princess Ever After, Katie O’Neill
Sorcerer of the Wild, Kai Ashante Wilson
The Wicked + The Divine Vol.1: The Faust Act, Kieron Gillen & Jamie McKelvie

Leave a Reply

