thinking out loud

Top Ten 2016 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn’t Get To (But TOTALLY plan to)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is Top Ten 2016 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn’t Get To (But TOTALLY plan to) which is basically the story of my life. I just looked at some of the 2014 titles that I meant to read but didn’t get to, and realised that I only got to half of those titles by the end of 2016. Let’s hope for better results with this list!

brightsmokecoldfire everyheartadoorway everfair gertiesleaptogreatness ghosts

Bright Smoke, Cold Fire by Rosamund Hodge (Balzer + Bray)
I am not a fan of Romeo and Juliet, but I am a fan of Shakespeare, and Shakespeare retellings. And I loved the first two Rosamund Hodge books I’ve read. And I even have a copy, so I don’t have the “I can’t afford it yet” excuse. And yet… somehow, I haven’t got to it yet. But I will. I WILL.

Every Heart A Doorway by Seanan McGuire (Tor.com)
Seanan McGuire has been on my “to-read authors” list for awhile now, but I was hesitating to start on yet another series. This novella seemed perfect for me, though – a story on portal fantasies and what ever happened to all those children who used to be Chosen Ones when they were kids? I’m hoping for a paperback to be out because the hardback costs too much, especially for a novella.

Everfair by Nisi Shawl (Tor Books)
I loved the cover, I loved the reviews, I loved that it’s steampunk. Basically the only thing I’m waiting for right now is for me to be able to afford it 😀 (Why are “adult” hardcovers so much more expensive? At least  YA is somewhat affordable…)

Gertie’s Leap to Greatness by Kate Beasley (FSG)
I don’t usually single out middle grade contemporary but from the first time I saw illustrations and quotes from this book at Seven Impossible Things, I knew this was going to be one of my favourite middle grade reads. AND the illustrations are by Jillian Tamaki! (For those that don’t know yet, I adore Jillian and Mariko Tamaki) That was almost a whole year before the book was to be published. So I waited… and I waited… and by the time the book came out, all my money had went to buying Christmas presents. I finally got myself a copy around the last couple of days of December, but I still have a few books to finish before I can get to it.

Ghosts by Raina Telgemeier (Scholastic)
Me in 2015: New Raina Telgemeier next year! Yay!
Me in early 2016: I can’t wait for the new Raina Telgemeier!
Me in late 2016: Oh no, I’ve spent so much on presents, I can’t get myself the new Raina Telgemeier…
Me now: I’ll borrow someone’s copy sometime this year!

ninefoxgambit thissavagesong threedarkcrown torchagainsthenight roseanddagger

Ninefox Gambit by Yoon Ha Lee (Solaris)
I mostly want to read it because everyone I know whose taste in SFF are similar to mine told me to read this. I bought the audio book recently when it was on sale. And hey, it’s still January, so the SF Experience “challenge” is on. So – soon!

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab (Greenwillow)
I’m a fan of Victoria Schwab’s adult fantasy/sci-fi, and I liked the few chapters of The Archived (her YA debut) that I’ve read. And this book has music and monsters. Of course it would end up in my list. But like most of the books being released at the end of the year, I had to wait to get my own copy. I did get it as a gift for someone, though! (I also did that with Gertie.)

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake (HarperTeen)
I mostly wanted to read this because of the cover. I still want to read it because of the cover. I do own a copy, so I will probably get around to reading this sometime this year.

A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir (Razorbill)
This is a sequel to An Ember in the Ashes, which I loved. When A Torch Against the Night was published I was so ready to read it. But it took too long for me to get my copy, and by the time I got it, I was already building a new TBR stack and it kind of got buried underneath the other stuff, even though I’m still looking forward to finally finding out what happens next.

The Rose and the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh (Putnam)
See above, except for the “finally get the book” part. Now I’m thinking I’ll wait for the third book and read both in one go.

I’d say that I’m looking forward to seeing everyone else’s lists, which would be true, but it would also be true that I’m a bit apprehensive about finding even MORE titles to add to my TBR… 😀

12 thoughts on “Top Ten 2016 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn’t Get To (But TOTALLY plan to)

  1. Oh, your jam is my jam – the only reason Everfair didn’t make my list is because I talked about it for the stocking fillers a couple weeks back – but it’s right up there (and Every Heart A Doorway is on my list too 🙂

    I can vouch for Ninefox – very nearly my favourite book of 2016 – and I’m just now reading A Darker Shade of Magic. Safe to say more Schwab is in my future.

    Here’s to 2017 for catching up on great stuff (…and realising there’s no such thing as catching up).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I only first heard about Three Dark Crowns recently, but it sounds really good! I love a great dark fantasy novel, especially one that has political intrigue in it. Fingers crossed it lives up to the hype! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have to admit, one of the reasons I’ve yet to start on Three Dark Crowns was because there was just so much hype, I was afraid I’d be disappointed. But I think I’ve distanced myself from all the talk about this book enough to start on it soon…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

