Comics

New Comic Book Day (March 3rd)

Mega Princess #4 by Kelly Thompson and Brianne Drouhard

Seriously, where were the comics about princesses who would rather be detectives when I was a kid? I’ve been following this series since the first issue, and am looking forward for the next one, which will be the last. Princess Maxine had received the “greatest” gift from her fairy godmother – the powers of all the princesses combined! Unfortunately, being able to feel a pea underneath twelve mattresses, or hear what her pony Justine was REALLY saying, wasn’t very helpful to a detective-wannabe. In this issue, Max and Justine are prisoners in the Kingdom of Atlantis, and need to break free so that they could continue their search for Max’s brother. I’ve been really enjoying this run, and will probably be passing all of my floppies on to my niece Sophie once the last one is out.


Archie #17 by Mark Waid and Joe Eisma

Cheryl Blossom is starting to work on getting Archie into her. Her methods were so simple and transparent that I would’ve thought it’d never work – except, of course, this is Archie we’re talking about. Meanwhile, Veronica was working very hard to get herself out of boarding school and back in Riverdale. I think this might be the first time I’m reading an Archie comic and think to myself, Veronica is really way too good for Archie. (As a sidenote, I started watching the Riverdale series but got stuck after episode one, because I didn’t like how Betty and Jughead were portrayed so far.)

Paper Girls #12 by Brian K. Vaughan and Cliff Chiang

Nothing much happens in this issue; the girls are still stranded where they were in the last issue. In fact, it felt like a filler… Erin and Tiffany discover a mutual love for The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy when they found a Babel Fish-like device, allowing them to talk to the woman who had been about to attack them in #11. The longer they spend where they are, though, the chances of catching up to KJ and Mac (who were stranded elsewhere) gets lower. Like I said, nothing much happens… but I really love this issue, because all the parts with KJ and Mac.

Monsters Unleashed #4 by Cullen Bunn and Salvador Larroca

In the last issue, Kid Kaiju (Kei Kawade) was taken under the protection of the Avengers (and other adult superheroes) Moon Girl (Luna Lafayette) managed to translate what the monsters were saying, and… it was not good. They spoke of preparing earth as a new nest for their queen mother, and Kei might be the only one able to save the world. The thing about reading these comics is that of course we know the world will be saved, so it’s really just for the monster vs monster (and heroes + good monsters vs. bad monsters) action. And it was pretty cool. I still prefer the .MU issues to the main storyline, where we get to see individual heroes or groups react to the monsters instead. But the best thing about this main storyline is the introduction of Kei’s character, and the fact that we have more Moon Girl (and Devil Dinosaur!)

America #1 by Gabby Rivera and Joe Quinones

Hmmm… what to say about this one. I discovered America Chavez in Kieron Gillen’s run of Young Avengers, and I had really, really loved her in that one. I still do – she’s so awesome. I love her cameos in Hawkeye, her friendship with Kate, and the fact that she’s leader of the new Ultimates team. I was oh so super excited when I heard that she would be leading her first solo series, and even more so when I heard that it would be about her starting out in college and dealing with feels. But. Maybe because I was looking forward to it too much, I found this issue just a bit underwhelming. The dialogue gets pretty cliched at certain parts, and I guess I would’ve liked to know more about her school before being randomly dropped into a pretty weird classroom. This is just the first issue, though, so I’ll continue reading to see how this series develops!

Champions #6 by Mark Waid & Humberto Ramos

This issue looks like a set-up for a new arc, in which the Champions fight The Freelancers, a super group who would do anything for money (which means they’re hired by all the awful corporations). We just get a brief introduction to who the Freelancers are and see them doing cruel things for fun (I guess we really are meant to hate them), juxtaposed with lots and lots of people around the world who, inspired by the Champions, took on the team logo to do good deeds. So – while everyone inspired by the Champions were fighting against World Suck (in nerdfighter!speak), the Freelancers were actively adding to it. And while all of this happens, Kamala and the gang play paintball. Which is my favourite thing about this issue – I love the fighting against world suck bit, but the paintball strategies and snarkiness and The Vision coming to pick up his daughter are a delight to read about, because I love all these people so much. I do not look forward to the following issues, though, because based on what I’ve seen in the Champions #1.MU comic (where they face off against the Freelancers while protecting deforestation protestors), there may be some pretty bleak issues involved, and I really don’t want anything to tarnish the optimism of Kamala Khan.

Leave a Reply

